We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morpheus Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Morpheus Guest House to your Saves list
Morpheus Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Coracao de Jesus, Lisbon 1150-108, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 160 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Early october we spent a midweek in Lisbon, and thanks to tripadvisor we ended up in Morpheus Guest house. It is indeed a pearl in the large Lisbon bowl of hotels/pensaos. Spacious room with atmosphere and good beds is a pleasure to stay. Besides 4-5 rooms on the 2nd floor, there is a fully equipped kitchen, and two fine good looking bathrooms. Large cooler/freezer in the kitchen, and oven combination as well as micro wave oven. All functions fine in the bathrooms; lovely shower etc, There is an old fashioned elevator in the building, but staircase for 2 floors is't too much, is it. The house keeper, Joao, is friendly, gives all the necessary information on the guest house particularities, and answers your questions about the surroundings of the guest house. No breakfast included, but you can make your own in the kitchen ! Supermarkets are nearby, one of them even open until midnight. Or why not visit a pastelaria for a breakfast or brunch ( should you like to sleep long....). On the average a quiet location, but slight trafic noise starts early in the morning. The only disappointing point in our room was a double window that could not be closed properly. Lowering the blinds helped a little. So street noise was noticed, but caused no rude awakenings. Airco on the room was not used, since it was comfortable temperature already. Large TV on the room, but we hardly used it. The downstairs main door lock could use some attention, but fiddling the key always helped to get in. Now, considering these only minor details, I would ALWAYS recommend this guest house to anyone. If you have been to Lisbon several times, stayed in various hotels/pensaos, then you will easaly agree that Morpheus has great comfort and a good location, combined with fair price and great self service freedom. The room was clean from the start, but not serviced during our 3 night stay. We were in a way happy with that, since it gave no disturbance in our long extending morning sleep, due to the good beds ! We will certainly come back here again !

Room Tip: As far as I could see, all rooms are fine here. No room service but a well equipped kitchen let'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Nederland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights and loved the place. This is a small guest house, just 4 rooms on our floor and two bathrooms, all decorated very stylish and new. We loved that it had a little kitchen with refrigerator for everybody to use. Everything was cleaned every day. The only thing we mist was a van of some sorts for the nights.

The location was good as well, central but not in the very touristic part, therefore there are a lot of small Portuguese restaurants etc in the neighborhood. The supermarket is just around the corner, just as the public transport. The owner is a very nice man, who knows how to treat guest. We would recommend this place to everybody!

Room Tip: Some rooms are more noisy than others, you should ask explicitly for this if you care about it. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Morpheus Guesthouse is an excellent place to stay in Lisbon. It is near Marques do Pombal, very central in the city and near to the metro station. Although it is central it is still quiet, and you won't be bothered with the noise of the night bars.
Comfortable rooms and very important: EXCELLENT MATTRESS. John is the owner of this place and told me that the mattresses where carefully chosen considering the fact that tourist walk all day long and at the end deserve to relax in a nice comfortable bed!
The bedrooms are quite big and with a nice decoration. Bathrooms are new and very clean.
You can cook your meals in the kitchen where you can find all the equipments you need.
My overall opinion is that this Guesthouse provides a lovely atmosphere. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've stayed there for one night in April. The place is very clean, the rooms are neat. The owner knows how to welcome the guests. The house was very quiet and close to the city center and al sorts of public transports.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysłowice, Polska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Together with my husband I spent there only one night but everything was great. Rooms are quite big with comfortable beds. Bathrooms are very nice, I would say - very new. Hot water! And also scales :) and a hairdryer. Kitchen has got a lot of space and is equipped with everything. I would recommend this place to everyone.
Ania

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morpheus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morpheus Guest House

Address: Coracao de Jesus, Lisbon 1150-108, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Hotel Class:2 star — Morpheus Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Morpheus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morpheus Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.