We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, new and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hall Chiado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hall Chiado to your Saves list
Hall Chiado
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rua do Alecrim, 45, Lisbon 1200-014, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 160 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, new and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I traveled with a friend and we lived in a double room. The room is clean, comfortable and new. Great smell in the hall. Perfect location, close to the transportations,shopping center and the sea. The reception is next door and you nearly see them. The gate and all the room's doors are locked with electronic locks and you need to type certain password to come in. Recommend to all kinds of travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta G, Proprietário at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. From Hall Chiado we have a view to the river Tejo but we are also close to the sea, as you say. With the good weather ahead it is worth a 20m drive to go to one of the beaches in the Lisbon area. We recommend our favorites - Guincho and São João da Caparica. Perhaps for your next visit to Lisbon...
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    29
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a very clean, quiet, and well located hotel in Lisbon. There is no front desk or coffee in the room, but you also don't wait to check in. You plug in your code and go to your room. While the staff is nice (they are next door in a little shop), you may never see them and that is OK. It has the sleek, trendy boutique style decor and a cork floor. GO PORTUGAL!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta G, Proprietário at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is great to see your enthusiasm for our country!
We don't have coffee in the rooms but we do have a kettle in our office, which we can borrow. And you are certainly welcome to have a coffee with us in the office, sponsored by Nespresso!
All the best,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I planned a simple Portuguese honeymoon and we very much enjoyed our stay at Hall Chiado. The staff was very friendly, attentive, and easy to communicate with in English (they work in an office next door). The location was simple to get to from the airport bus service. It was also easy to walk, or catch the nearby train/metro, to get anywhere. Since our room faced the main street, it could be a bit loud with traffic noises and late night partiers on foot, but it was worth it to be able to step out on the mini balcony to have a peek at the waterfront. Our one and only real complaint was that the entry and halls smelled quite strongly of cleaner, which can't be good for anyone breathing it, but once we opened our room windows there was no problem in our room at least. That said, we definitely would recommend Hall Chiado!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Indeed, sometimes at night, especially on Friday and Saturday, there is a lot of activity in the area. It is good if you are looking at a night out, as you can easily reach many cool restaurants and pubs but can get a bit noisy even with the soundproofed windows in the rooms. We do have rooms facing the back of the building to an inner shaft, which are really quiet.
Regarding the cleaner smell, it has been mentioned by other guests as a pleasent impact when entering the hall but perhaps we need to fine-tune it, so it doesn't disturb other guests. We will certainly review it now.
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Location is great to move about: 5 min from the airport bus stop, within walking distance of almost everything and you can come back walking super safe after dinner or a night out in Barrio Alto.. The rooms are superb: new, super clean and decorated to a great taste. I would recommend Chiado Hall to anyone going to Lisbon. There is no reception as such but that is OK, the managers are still approachable and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta G, Proprietário at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hall Chiado.
We are going to improve the communication between our office and the hotel lobby, to make it easier for a guest that needs any help to contact us. Even though we don't have a proper reception, I think this will facilitate the direct contact. Thank you for your comments!
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location, easy access to busy town square and local restaurants. The accommodation gives recommendations of where to eat which we found extremely helpful. The staff next door were very friendly and helpful as well, making our stay a most pleasant one! Rooms are airy and modern, with quirky pieces of furniture. Very interesting place! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were helpful. Me, Marta or Sara are always there in the office, during daytime, also at weekends but even when we are not there, we are always ON via the Hall Chiado phone number, to provide any help or support. If needed we can be there in just a few minutes.
Hope to have you back one day!
All the best,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a very nice place close to lots of bars and restaurants. The room was spotlessly clean (and brilliant white) - and the shower was great. The idea of keyless entry via a code was very good (assuming you can remember it after a few glasses of the local hooch).

The only slight downside was the noise made in the middle of one night by a host of blotto British males returning from a night and a half on the town (but you get those everywhere and it's no fault of the hotel).

The owner was happy to look after our bags on the final day. This was the only time we saw anyone connected with the hotel.

We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,
I apologize for the noise situation. We were aware of it and tried to control it as good as possible. As you say, this happens… but fortunately very rarely in Hall Chiado so far. I just hope it didn’t spoil your stay too much and would be very happy to be able to compensate you in a future stay.
Best regards,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, walk distance from many bars, stores and restaurants. Great room and bathroom. At the entrance you will find nice tips about where to go, what to see and where to eat. I would surely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We feel that more and more people are overwhelmed with guides and lists of endless recommendations of what to eat and where to go, so we take a risk and give a small list of our own preferences and taste. Not necessarily the most fancy places but the ones we really like and go with our family and friends. Places that we think are the true spirit of Lisbon.
Best regards,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hall Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Chiado

Address: Rua do Alecrim, 45, Lisbon 1200-014, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hall Chiado 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hall Chiado is a new opening in September 2012 in Chiado, the trendiest neighborhood in Lisbon. The property was completely refurbished with Portuguese materials and furniture. All nine rooms have bathroom, free wifi, tv, safe and daily cleaning. Family suites available with interior rooms and kitchenette. From here, you have access to all public transports at walking distance, as well as the coolest shops, restaurants and bars in Chiado and Bairro Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hall Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hall Chiado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.