We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stop for lovely food and drink when visiting the castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercearia Castelo Cafe

Mercearia Castelo Cafe
Rua das Flores de Santa Cruz, 2-2A | Lisboa, Castelo Sao Jorge, Lisbon 1100-245, Portugal
+351218876111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 2,363 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $6 - $78
Cuisines: Portuguese, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great place to stop for lovely food and drink when visiting the castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely 100% recommend this lovely little cafe. Don't bother with the other places near the castle entrance as they have nothing on this place!
We sat outside at the back of the cafe and it was warm and peaceful. We all had good coffees and very tasty cakes! We would have eaten lunch there but we had to carry on with our day.
The manager was so polite and really friendly.
Do go and visit this place and enjoy the Portguese pastel de nata - scrummy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great bar, a challenge to find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Want a quiet bar just hidden from view in an historic setting?
Loved finding this place and chilling out.
Needs finding. Has a discreet outdoor annexed and a super corner patio.
Warm welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One of the best places in all Lisbon!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Try the best old style toasts,beautiful place,exelent service and good times in Saint George Castel!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Such a lovely cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just a beautifully presented little cafe which was so neat and clean and welcoming. Excellent coffees and apple pies. Everything else looked very good too. Hard to find though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stop off at Castle Sao Jorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Found this little cafe tucked away in the backstreet of Lisbon by the Castle Sao Jorge . It was lovely and clean and very welcoming hosts . We liked it so much we went back on a second visit . We had a lovely ham and cheese toasty and some wine and their excellent port . The interior is very tastefully done and the prices very reasonable . Its very easy to miss it , but worth the visit !! Take either Tram 28 from Martim moniz near the Hotel Mundial or Tram 12 from Praca de figueira.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercearia Castelo Cafe also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Mercearia Castelo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercearia Castelo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.