We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stop off at Castle Sao Jorge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercearia Castelo Cafe

Mercearia Castelo Cafe
Rua das Flores de Santa Cruz, 2-2A | Lisboa, Castelo Sao Jorge, Lisbon 1100-245, Portugal
+351218876111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 2,193 restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $6 - $78
Cuisines: Portuguese, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Conwy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stop off at Castle Sao Jorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Found this little cafe tucked away in the backstreet of Lisbon by the Castle Sao Jorge . It was lovely and clean and very welcoming hosts . We liked it so much we went back on a second visit . We had a lovely ham and cheese toasty and some wine and their excellent port . The interior is very tastefully done and the prices very reasonable . Its very easy to miss it , but worth the visit !! Take either Tram 28 from Martim moniz near the Hotel Mundial or Tram 12 from Praca de figueira.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    36
    12
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Definitely a place for a drink and local chat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent find by chance......Hugo a fantastic host/bar person......drinks especially sangria.....
Friendly conversation especially football.......a must visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“out of the way but , worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Bar owned and run by locals . With a genuine welcome

Nothing too much trouble .

Had 2 sangrias 2 red wines and some olives and a brandy, and embarasingly got changa for 10 euros
Will go again ,for the hospitality

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A real special find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We happened upon this little coffee bar when we came ashore for one day whilst on a Cruise in the Atlantic. We walked up to the castle in Lisbon and found this 'gem' in a tiny little street just outside the castle.
I am a seasoned coffee drinker and I really do know my coffee.....this little restuarant serves the BEST coffee I have ever tasted!! We had our coffee with a small typical portugese custard pie each...we were amazed that for two coffee's and two pies the cost was 3 euros and 80 cents....a steal in the middle of a tourist area.

I cannot recommend thisplace enough. OBRIGADO to the owner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Vacations in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Best Place i have found in Lisbon
Great food great service awesome wine
If u around u have to tried it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercearia Castelo Cafe also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Mercearia Castelo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercearia Castelo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.