We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lisboa Carmo Hotel to your Saves list
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal (Baixa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The moment we (five girls) arrived the staff were so welcoming and friendly. Walter was very helpful spending time with us to show our location on a map and places to visit. The family room was spacious and contemporary. The location is perfect for visiting all the sights in Lisbon. I can't wait to go back. Thank you Lisboa Carmo hotel for making our trip to Lisbon perfect.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    119
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
257
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be sure, my room was a bit limited in the square-meter department, but the bed and linens were wonderful, the décor fashionably contemporary, the bathroom design sleekly modern, and the staff at the front desk enthusiastic and welcoming (obrigado, Miguel!). The morning breakfast buffet was sufficient and satisfying, and like the Wi-Fi was part of the up-front room charge, not a surprise add-on at check-out.

But the real stunner lies in walking out the door. The hotel faces onto the Largo do Carmo in the charming Chiado district, one of Lisbon's seven hills. It's a great neighborhood for strolling, dining, and exploring. That too is a "free" extra of staying at the Lisboa Carmo Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in one of the rooms on the top floor and it was amazing. Maybe one of the nicer places we have stayed. The views were small but beautiful, the bed was wonderful, bathroom and bathtub were perfect. Breakfast was included and very good with many different options.

I would only stay here when returning to Lisbon. The only thing that was hard was finding the place. The taxi driver dropped us off far from the hotel and struggled to find it. However, the hotel is located in a great area with lots of fun options.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very fine hotel, very comfortable, in a central location. Numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance. Easy access to the metro. The only drawback is that it is at the top of a hill, so walking down to the river is easy but climbing back up is a bit of a chore. Taxis easy to get, though. Excellent value, good breakfast, although it does not change from day to day.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon. It is in the perfect location, lovely clean modern bedrooms, comfortable beds. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly - a big thank you to Walter and the team who made our stay wonderful and trouble free. I will not hesitate to return.
ps gorgeous Portuguese tarts and welcome drinks an unexpected complimentary treat - just a sign of the hospitality received at this superb hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel in the heart of Lisbon.
You feel welcome at the minute you come in..
Rooms are beautiful, the area is the best you can have and the rooms are very nice.
Restrooms are big and very modern..
This is the place to stay in Lisbon,
-good price
-friendly staff
-beautiful hotel
-best location

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights on a weekend trip to Lisbon. We had an early flight and arrived at the hotel via taxi from the airport (€20). Our room was ready so we were able to check in and get a early start to some sight seeing.
We got room 404 which has magnificent views of Lisbon, the castle, churches and the river. The hotel is ideally situated on the corner of a square within walking distance of everything. There are numerous good restaurants literally within 100 meters and the buzz of the main shopping street is about 250 meters away at the bottom of the hill. After returning to our room on the first night we were unexpectedly greeted with a bottle of chilled sparkling wine and some sliced fruit on the dressing table
It was my wife's birthday and the hotel had spotted this from the date of birth on her passport. Breakfast next day was relaxed with a great selection of hot and cold food.
In conclusion this hotel is easily one of the best we have stayed in. It is ideal for a few days exploring Lisbon, hopefully we will return for another visit.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon > Baixa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be “dressed” by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisboa Carmo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.