We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lisboa Carmo Hotel to your Saves list
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal (Baixa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I booked this hotel based on other reviews and was not disappointed....it was fantastic! It is a new modern hotel in a great location yet quiet and very comfortable. It is walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. The front desk staff were very helpful and spoke good English. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: We booked a premium room and had lots of room, a very comfortable king size bed, shower and separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    142
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
77
311
23
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in Lisbon for a night in January and choosing the Lisboa Carmo. The location is exceptional; the hotel is literally in center of where you want to be. Despite being in such an active part of the city, the blocks around the hotel are actually pretty quite. Of note, it is also very easy to get to from the airport via either the metro or the aerobus both of which drop you off at Rossio. Just be warned that although the walk from Rossio to the hotel is only a few blocks, it's pretty steep so it can be challenging if you have a lot of luggage. The room itself was modern, clean, and comfortable. I will definitely be staying at the Lisboa Carmo the next time I find myself in Lisbon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed 2 consecutive weekends in January in this hotel, and apart from the fact that it is quite new and well designed, this is the best location you can find in central Lisbon (top central with parking places available), the rooms and the beds are very comfortable, and the service is very friendly. Only one comment: the second room we got was quite small compared to the first one we had during our first weekend, and as the 2nd weekend was not as busy as the first one from a touristic season point of view, we expected to have the same kind of room, the 2nd time, but that was not the case. We'll come back anyway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I just traveled to Lisbon with a group of high school students and we chose to stay at the Lisboa Carmo hotel due to its location - close to most of the shopping, train station and sights that we wanted to see in Lisbon. I would return to this hotel for sure whenever I return to Lisbon (which was excellent, by the way). The property, besides being so conveniently located, is very clean, attractive and comfortable. Although the rooms are not huge, they are a good size and the beds were great. The shower was a rain-type shower which was fantastic! The breakfast buffet was included and the choices were plentiful and delicious. Everyone in the group was happy with the choices available. Although we all loved the hotel, what truly set it apart for me was the service. Nuno at the front desk was the most helpful hotel staff person I have dealt with in years! He helped me to arrange airport transportation, gave directions and suggestions (we had a great fado experience and dinner at Casa de Linhares) and did whatever he could to help make our few days in Lisbon enjoyable. Thanks, Nuno! The other staff were also among the best we have encountered anywhere. We loved the great variety of things to do in Lisbon and the food, port and shopping, too. I would highly recommend this city and this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This a fantastic choice when looking for places to stay in Lisbon. It is a nice boutique hotel, very centrally located to all of the great neighborhoods on Lisbon, close to tons of great shopping, bars, and restaurants, close to subway and tram stations. The hotel is very nicely appointed, the rooms and beds are comfortable. The breakfast spread is plentiful and will have you completely ready for your day on the town.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 3rd or 4th floors have small balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A great hotel, very clean and in a quiet area of Lisbon but very central to everything. Breakfast very good, staff very attentive. All in all an excellent hotel. Lisbon streets are very steep at times, so flat shoes essential.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Lisboa Carmo Hotel is a great place to stay. Lots of good restaurants nearby. It is convenient to most of the sights of the city. The hotel is nicely designed with comfortable, quiet rooms.The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was ample and very tasty. I plan to stay there on my next trip to Lisbon.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the top floor have great views of the city and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisboa Carmo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.