We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff, location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Monte Belvedere to your Saves list
Monte Belvedere
Rua Santa Catarina, 17 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Porto Alegre
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Staff, location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a small bed&breakfast in a recently renovated house in Bairro Alto.

The location is very good, near to many restaurants and not far from the tram. The staff is very friendly and helpful and is able to advise you in selecting restaurants in the neighborhood.

Rooms (even the breakfast room) are on the small side, but clean.

There is a restaurant on the roof opened when weather allows. The view and the food are excellent. As I understood even if you are in one of the other guest-houses of the same owner, you may use this restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    25
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
130
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I believe, this place is one of the best places to stay in when in Lisbon: great location, safe and quite neighbourhood, great rooms with comfortable bed and the best staff ever.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The guest house is a five minute walk from the aerobus drop-off in Cais do Sodre and is perfectly located close to tram-stops to the centre and to Belem and next to an outstanding view point. The rooms are extremely quiet, tastefully decorated and comfortable, but what makes the guest house so outstanding is the service they give their guests. We were welcomed warmly with freshly squeezed orange juice and cake whilst the city was explained to us and all our questions answered, we were also given what turned out to be a fantastic recommendation for a local restaurant which had traditional Fado singing. We were offered the chance to join a walking tour of the city, exclusive to their guests, and after hesitating at first we decided to join it the following day. We are so glad we did as Sergio was outstanding, not only taking us to an array of hidden gems and back streets, but also offering incredible insight into the city and his way of life. If you have the chance to join the tour then take it! It is well worth it and will greatly enrich your experience. We have already recommended the Monte Belvedere to everyone since our trip, all of whom have been very impressed by our experience and are eager to visit the city and stay at the guest house, we won't be going anywhere else next time we visit Lisbon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We chose the Monte Belvedere mainly because of the location, but it is certainly a place I would like to recommend to everybody I know. Not only because of the location, but especially because of the very friendly staff and the excellent service.

We was offered a guidet tour in Lisbon already on the first day, they arranged small events with wine and cheese, they helped with tours, restaurant suggestions, reservations, descriptions of transportation options etc.

Name any request, and I think the staff would be helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We chose Monte Belvedere solely on the rating and comments in TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. While a little difficult to locate and park a car in the area, this minor inconvenience was more than compensated by the treasure of a B&B. We were welcomed by Sergio, who could not do enough for us by providing local information, assisting with our luggage and getting us comfortable. The B&B itself is in the centre of Lisbon, high on the hill with fantastic views of the river. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with a unique little ensuite built into the heritage building that was adequate. The breakfast was very comprehensive and good quality with Sergio and Daniel ensuring that we had all that we needed.
The dinner offered at an addition EUR28 each was excellent with multiple courses and accompanied wines that were specialities of the region.

The coffee and tea making facilities and the cake in the afternoon was a good touch, especially in Lisbon where dinner was after 8.30pm….

We would certainly stay here again and recommend this to any couple travelling to Lisbon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were recommended to go to Monte Belvedere and we were not disappointed. In fact we were amazed at what they offered for so little a price. The first night we tried to book they were full and so our 2nd night we arrived excited to find out what was so special. Daniel was the host with the most, he got us comfy and we realized we were the only two for the night. This made it even more special. 6 courses, 3 wines and 1 port for 28euro. The food was divine and attention has been paid to selecting the best produce from around different areas of Portugal. Every serving was delicious and came with an explanation. My only concern was that I did not have enough room to fit everything in. We want to come back in summer to enjoy the rooftop terrace. It is a must! Thank you for a wonderful dining and cultural food tour.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed just down the street from the Monte Belvedere at another of the Shiadu Guesthouses, Casa do Patio. Magda suggested and like all her recommendations we accepted. Our last night was the fixed price and menu dinner at the MB's intimate dining room. Daniel was an attentive and friendly server. He explained where each of the wines came from in Portugal as well as describing each dish and where it fits in Portugal's food pallet. They were even kind to our one non-fish eater, with a substitute course so good he insisted his companions try it! (A mushroom "cake" that was a savory treat!) All of the staff's suggestions were excellent...this was a perfect last night for our week in Portugal. It was a unique dining experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Belvedere

Address: Rua Santa Catarina, 17 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views of the Tagus River, Monte Belvedere is situated in the heart of Lisbon, offering air-conditioned suites with a city or river view. São Bento Palace, the Chiado Museum and Santos Railway Station are within 1 km away. The stylish and airy suites at Monte Belvedere are decorated with wooden parquet floors and white painted walls. Each suite includes a seating area with a cable TV and a modern private bathroom. A buffet breakfast is served daily with a variety of choices including crepes, fresh fruit and juices. Guests can dine on international and regional Portuguese cuisine in the several restaurants and cafés, a 5-minute walk away. Guests can relax on the sun terrace with picturesque views of Lisbon and the Tagus River. Free Wi-Fi is available. The Monte Belvedere staff can help booking a massage and advice on any day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monte Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.