We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Monte Belvedere to your Saves list
Monte Belvedere
Rua Santa Catarina, 17 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 160 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Unfortunately only had the opportunity to stay one night. Place is very well situated and the breakfast is outstanding. We had a last minute discount which made the value of the b and b incredible. Breakfast was very very good and served on the roof, with views over the Douro. Would recommend for anyone in Lisbon. Staff is excellent and couldn't be more helpful.
Think a cab was 21 euros from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    29
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
156
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we did eat dinner at the restaurant. It was wonderful! The space on the roof top is absolutely perfect, and provides beautiful views of the river. The service was spectacular! The waiter really made you feel important even though he was the only server, and he explained all the dishes and wines to us. The food, while not perfect, was very good. We enjoyed every dish, especially the first, which was a simple potato and onion based soup with cabbage and chorizo in it. It was soooo good, and done probably pretty close to as perfectly as it could be. If you can eat dinner here while in Lisbon, do it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Monte Belvedere and absolutely loved it. We were greeted with fresh orange juice by a very friendly member of staff. We ate breakfast on the terrace upstairs, and the view was simply amazing. We were given maps of the city and helpful tips for walks that would be interesting to our taste.

In addition to that, our room was very clean and modern. We were given a complementary bottle of wine that was very tasty, and the water pressure/heat in the shower was excellent. The only reason I did not give the hotel 5 stars, was that there was construction going on right outside of our window. In this case, the hotel could do nothing about it. However, I am sure it will all be sorted by the time we visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it! The location is perfect: very near the #28 tram and the old city but in a more peaceful neighbourhood. Our room was lovely, the bed was ultra comfortable. The terrace was magical. We had the dinner and can't recommend it highly enough. Sergio did an excellent job explaining each dish and wine which really enhanced our appreciation. All of the staff was warm and friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed the dinner twice. Excellent food accomponied with very good wine at very affordable price - altogether with a beautiful view across the Tejo.
Our kids (10 and 13) enjoyed the dinner as well. The standard menu was modified to suit better the kids - and they loved it.
Great value! We will for sure return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was extremely happy spending 1 day in this House for Guests.

Monte Belvedere has perfect location, it is easy to find. On the roof terrace you will get the amazing view over the river and the city.

I was a guest for party wedding and enjoyed the time and the place VERY much, because the service was good and well organized, and the staff is so kind and helpful there, so there were no problem with language at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Although we did not actually stay in Monte Belvedere, we did enjoy the tasting menu dinner here! The service was fantastic, our waiter was very friendly and helpful and told us all about the food and wine. We had 5 course and 5 different wines all for £25ish! the food was delicious, as was the wine! It was my girlfriends birthday at the time and I had mentioned it to them before arriving (Just chancing my arm basically...) but they went and baked an entire cake! it was fantastic! I should also point out that you eat on a roof terrace overlooking the sea so the views are fantastic. Highly recommend coming here for the dinner at least!

Room Tip: I would advise to book in advance on the day as the restaurant did not appear to be the biggest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Belvedere

Address: Rua Santa Catarina, 17 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views of the Tagus River, Monte Belvedere is situated in the heart of Lisbon, offering air-conditioned suites with a city or river view. Sao Bento Palace, the Chiado Museum and Santos Railway Station are within 1 km away. The stylish and airy suites at Monte Belvedere are decorated with wooden parquet floors and white painted walls. Each suite includes a seating area with a cable TV and a modern private bathroom. A buffet breakfast is served daily with a variety of choices including crepes, fresh fruit and juices. Guests can dine on international and regional Portuguese cuisine in the several restaurants and cafes, a 5-minute walk away. Guests can relax on the sun terrace with picturesque views of Lisbon and the Tagus River. Free Wi-Fi is available. The Monte Belvedere staff can help booking a massage and advice on any day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Monte Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.