We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Belvedere

Save Saved
You added Monte Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monte Belvedere
Rua Santa Catarina, 17 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 134 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Morris Plains, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Monte Belvedere guesthouse has a great location, a walk distance almost from everything and an excellent staff. The cooking was not bad either, actually, it was very good. Try home cooked Portugal dinner, a culinary experience you will remember.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
96
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Monte Belvedere guesthouse has nine comfortable rooms, a very friendly and helpful staff, and a great view of the Tagus river from their rooftop terrace. My stay this time was for 5 days. But I was "trying out" the guesthouse as a place for five of us to stay for a week in March 2013. Monte Belvedere passed this "trial" with flying colours, and we're all looking forward to our stay there next March. Their plan is to glass-in the rooftop terrace and open a restaurant there, hopefully before we return in March.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two rooms with windows facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

An attractive part of the old town. Cobbled streets and fine square with great views over the river. And the terrace on top has even better views. We took the superior rooms because of their view. Fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, expresso coffee and home made cakes among breakfast pleasures. We enjoyed the recommended restaurant Lisboa Noite and we asked for a non tourist Restaurant for Fado which was a great pleasure. They can help you find what you are looking for and book it. And give you really good guidance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived early Sunday hours before official check-in but were immediately invited to a large delicious espresso and breakfast.I had forgotten my Lisbon guidebook at home and when the staff heard this they began pouring out information about the city-really inside tips for which we were grateful all through the trip.The staff really made you feel at home and was attentive to each and every one of our needs.questions or desires and always in a very warm and genuine fashion.The location of this guesthouse is simply ideal with a breathtaking view over the river especially from the roof-terracewhere in the summer months one can be served breakfast.The hotel is very close to the very strategical number 28 tramline which can take you through downtown Lisbon and up past the citadel on one side and past the parliament building in the other direction.The hotel being on a side street on a cul-de-sac is very quiet and peaceful.Breakfast was always a feast of new tastes-fresh squeezed-out orange juice,delicious assortment of morning pastries,fruits and,and,and.The pastries are home-made and were always fresh and many times still warm.The rooms were all separately and tastefully decorated with very large and firm beds.Another aspect of the hotel which we appreciated very much was the fact that it only has nine rooms which helps to create a cozy and homely atmosphere.Although we were satisfied with our room facing the street I would recommend taking a room facing the river-the view is wonderful and one can avoid hearing late-comers walking by.We are not late eaters but one can order a 3 course evening meal with a different wine to each dish-and we heard from other guests that these dinners are simply superb!

Room Tip: rooms to the river are quieter and the view is splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Travelled a lot, been in so many places - but the Monte Belvedere tops them all.
The neighbourhood is in the very heart of the city with the Camoes square in 500 metres distance.
The place is a recently renovated old city house with charming, clean, warm rooms in a mix of art deco/modern styling.
The breakfast buffet was small but included EXACTLY what one needs to start the day - all fresh, local cousine...
The rooftop has the best view especially looking to the south direction which means: sun all day!
But just next to the building you have the miradouro Santa Catarina: one of the city's meeting points for chilling and enjoying the view.
But what was the absolute number one is the Girls and Boys working there,who take such amazing care of someone and make you feel like really home!
I had to hug them when I left!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in Lisbon both coming and going from our European vacation.
Initially we had guarded opinion of Lisbon, but on returning for 24 hours prior to return flight to US we saw Portugal in whole new light!
This hotel is utterly charming. Modern decor with antique touches. Gorgeous windows and fabulous views from rooftop terrace. They offer Portugese dining experience with fixed menu
in evening ( vegetarian option available), but we passed on this due to our schedule. They sent us off touring on own with map and suggestions for dining, shopping and sight seeing.
Tried two restuarants they suggested and loved them both! Everything is in walking distance if you can do the hills.
Had the best 24 hours of our three week trip.

Room Tip: We had room 22 and it is utterly charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callantsoog, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Charming place on an excellent location with stunning views from the rooftop terrace. Good beds, quiet (but rather small) rooms. Excellent breakfast with fresh juice, fruit and home made pastry. The warm welcome, helpfulness and tips of Nidia completed the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monte Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Belvedere

Address: Rua Santa Catarina, 17 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring panoramic views of the Tagus River, Monte Belvedere is situated in the heart of Lisbon, offering air-conditioned suites with a city or river view. São Bento Palace, the Chiado Museum and Santos Railway Station are within 1 km away. The stylish and airy suites at Monte Belvedere are decorated with wooden parquet floors and white painted walls. Each suite includes a seating area with a cable TV and a modern private bathroom. A buffet breakfast is served daily with a variety of choices including crepes, fresh fruit and juices. Guests can dine on international and regional Portuguese cuisine in the several restaurants and cafés, a 5-minute walk away. Guests can relax on the sun terrace with picturesque views of Lisbon and the Tagus River. Free Wi-Fi is available. The Monte Belvedere staff can help booking a massage and advice on any day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monte Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.