We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercy Hotel to your Saves list
Mercy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal (Baixa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excelent location - less than 5 min walk from Chiado, the center of Lisbon where Brasileira and Bernard are - as wonderful rooms with nice views and with everthing you need. Staff is outsdanding. The Porter is the best. Perfect city hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    86
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
155
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

the hotel is in a great location, the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. The rooms are designed very nicely ad the small touches are cool; like the floors having names of famous Portuguese people from the past. Really enjoyed the stay. And we want to thank the door man - Ronny - really a nice fellow, was always greeting us with a great smile and helped with many suggestions.

Room Tip: they are all probably great, we had a twin with views of the Lisbon Castle and loved it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mercy Hotel during the end of our two week trip to Portugal for 2 nights. Honestly, I do not toss this word around lightly but I can truly say that this hotel was perfect. From the location to the amenities and the staff, there is very little room for improvement. I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel based on some of the reviews but I was happy to find out for myself.

The hotel is located right in the heart of the Bairro Alto region; surrounded by shopping, nightlife, restaurants, and sightseeing. Mercy Hotel is quite new and modern. Our room was street facing yet we truly could not hear a sound. I believe we selected the room with over 200sq ft which had a great layout with an extremely efficient use of space. There was plenty of closet space, bath robes, slippers, hand held hair dryer, wifi unique to each room, a huge flat screen tv, large mirrors, and tons of lighting! Even the wardrobe had its own light! The bathroom was a good size with nice water pressure and the air conditioning was great as well. We can't forget to mention the delicious welcome fruit in chocolate sauce!

While the location and the room were excellent, the staff truly made our stay memorable. Every single person was friendly and went above and beyond each time we interacted. From printing out and translating directions to suggesting restaurants and answering our questions, every staff member made you feel as though we were their most important customer. A special thanks goes to Riccardo for his restaurant recommendations and for sending us to the most beautiful rooftop lounge on our last night in Lisbon! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for its friendly staff and perfect location in Lisbon. We stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor that has a private balcony with an incredible view of the city and water. Clean hotel, comfy beds and a very accommodating staff provided a relaxing experience. We LOVED this hotel and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We unexpectedely stayed at the Mercy Hotel. Initial plan was to stay at another one but I had made the silliest mistake in booking it messing up with the month of the booking... When we arrived at the Internacional Design Hotel, we did realize I had booked for the wrong month, september i/o August.
So here we are in Lisbon, mid August, without a place to stay. I do mention the Internacional Boutique Hotel asthe front desk staff there was amazing, trying their best to find a solution in their fully booked hotel, but could not.
They let us leave our lugages while going out for breakfast and check other hotels.
We eventually reached the Mercy Hotel and were informed they had a room available so we took it. Our choice was positively commented by staff at Internacional.
So back to Mercy, we loved each and single staff we had to deal with. They were as helpful as it gets, from orientation to giving us beach towels when we told them we were going to Estoril.
Rooms are indeed small, but we were not in Lisbon to spend our days in the room. So as long as mattress is of quality and rooms are clean, we would be the happiest guests on earth. And that was the case.
Thumbs up to the staff who really were excellent.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Our experience there was perfect! We were on a 17 day travel and this is where we stayed for the last 3 nights. The staff was very helpful and kind always making sure that their suggestions for restaurants and other things were worth it. Very clean, nice rooms, really well located! We had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having known Lisbon only from business trips, our two night stay at the Mercy Hotel gave us the opportunity to better know the city and its welcoming people. Ricardo and his staff were of unfailing assistance and good humor. Our room, castle view, was small (even by European standards) but well laid out and we didn't feel cramped.
Breakfast is served, not buffet, and got us off to a great start each day. Ask Felipe to prepare his cappucino for you - a work of art!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercy Hotel

Address: Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon > Baixa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercy Hotel is a Contemporary Five Star Boutique Hotel, very Charming, with a top location in Lisbon: between the districts of Bairro Alto and Chiado. The architectural project was signed by the acclaimed architect Miguel Saraiva, internationally wellknown and nominated for the Portuguese Real Estate Oscars 2012.The hotel offers 47 rooms, with 5 different room types to meet your needs, some with breathtaking views over the river or the Castle. On the top floor, 2 suites with a private small terrace with views over the rooftops of Lisbon. An asian restaurant is also available, a lounge bar, and an internet corner . Free internet wireless in bedrooms and public areas. Our staff will be happy to welcome you and help you in anyway you need! Lisbon Smiles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Agoda, Venere, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.