We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercy Hotel to your Saves list
Mercy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal (Encarnação)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Sunbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best service, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were looked after by Ronnie, the impressive doorman in the long coat and bowler hat (even though it was 32 degrees) and all the staff. The concierge sorted out places to eat lunch dinner or just coffee.
The hotel is well placed for access to the sea front, train station shopping and restaurants. The hotel restaurant Umai was exceptional, a mix of Asian and sushi, I recommend the taster menu, and again the staff were very helpful with suggestions, and great value for money.
The bar was in the basement which wasn't so good, but the Mojitos were excellent. There were mannequins in the lobby area which were slightly odd, but it did make people look in. The street that runs parallel is full of busy lively restaurants, but if you want quiet, unusual or traditional they are all within easy reach. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa F, Gerente geral at Mercy Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your valuable input. I have passed your comments to the different departments at the Mercy Hotel. Your opinion help us improve even more our Service.
We are very happy that the Tasting Menu at Umai pleased you a lot. Executive Chef Paulo Morais is one of the greatest masters of Asian Cuisine in Portugal and the tasting menu is no doubt a wonderful visiting card.
We hope we will be able to welcome you again at the Mercy Hotel in the near future.
Best regards
General Management
Mercy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    89
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
159
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Loved our stay at this stylish hotel close to the Biaox Chiado Metro line and the lively Barrio Alto district in Lisbon. Ronnie the doorman a favourite in his impeccable uniform, the desk staff all fluent in English and eager to help where they can. Gorgeous rooms with huge flat screen telly, spotlessly clean modern and sound proof.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from our stay at the Mercy Hotel in Lisbon. We had one of the best experiences by far which says a lot since we travel frequently.

Location:

The location could not be better. One street away from all the action in Barrio Alto on the edge of Chiado, but far enough to enjoy some peaceful sleep. One block down is a major metro station which connects you to the airport and other destinations. On the right of the hotel and 6 minutes down the scenic stairs is the Rossio train station connecting you to Sintra. Great restaurants and bars are within 5 minutes walking distance. A+ for location.

Staff:

Every single staff member went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. What a nice bunch of people. Riccardo and the rest of the team were so helpful, informative and were our unofficial tour guides, explaining in detail how to get to places, where to eat, what to do and all the rest. If we needed anything they were up at our room within minutes. They really were amazing and provided one of the best service I've yet to experience at a hotel. A+ for staff service.

ROOM
We stayed in the deluxe room overlooking lisbon rooftops and the bridge in the distance. Beautiful, modern, clean and comfortable. The bed was so spacious and comfortable and I actually made note of how quiet the AC was. We barely heard it. I even thought to myself that I need to get the same for my home. The room included free wifi, flatscreen tv, office area behind the bed, espresso machine, and everything you could ask for in a room. Chocolate left on our pillows every day. A fruit up and fresh juice to welcome us to our room. The bathroom was spacious and separated from the rest of the room. We loved it. A+ for Room

RESTAURANT
Unfortunately, we did not have time to have lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant but the daily breakfast was very nice. It included several different pieces of fresh bread, ham, cheese, omelet, coffee and boundless cups of fresh orange juice. A+ for breakfast experience.

Office/Business Room
My husband had business to take care of while on our trip and had great things to say about the business area located in the basement of the hotel next to a lounge

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A quite new hotel. The deco is little bit strange but I guess somebody could like it :)
The breakfast is simple but good! Orange juice is a fresh and tasty.
The room is nice, clean and correct size. More likely a 4 than 5 stars.

The big plus is clearly the service.
At the door, front desk or in the restaurant, the service is really good.
The service is what you can expect in a 5 stars.

A special thanks to Ronnie and Olafe (not sure the first name but the Island guy) who were very helpful and really nice to speak with! Both on level for 5 stars !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The mercy hotel is in an amazing location near all of the great restaurants and nightlife in bairro alto! Very close to the 28 tram and great shopping! The rooms are nice and much bigger than some of the other similarly priced hotels in lisbon.

The staff is phenomenal. The concierges Ricardo and Pedro are incredibly helpful and have great recommendations for restaurants, bars, transportation etc. Overall, the hotel provides an AMAZING experience and is the perfect spot for your trip to lisbon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just got back from a three night stay in this new and fabulous boutique hotel. The location is perfect as it is in the heart of the action but within walking distance of all the main attractions. The rooms are very clean, well equipped, comfortable and come with free wifi !!
Riccardo and his front desk team must be the friendliest and most helpful we have ever come across. By the time we left we felt more like family than guests. We will be back!
Special mention for Ronny the doorman, a thoroughly lovely bloke!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The location was great. We were just a few blocks from the 28 tram and literally right next door to the Bairro Alto which is where all the night life is. The hotel room was not cheap but my boyfriend and I both agreed that this was one the friendliest hotel staffs we have ever encountered. Pedro, one of the front desk staff, was our main source for recommendations on what to do and how to get around the city. He was a HUGE help. The staff treat you like family and genuinely want to help make the most of your visit in Lisbon. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Lisbon. I would also recommend visiting Cascais if you have time. It's a small fishing town just a train ride away from Lisbon with a beautiful walking path right along the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercy Hotel

Address: Rua da Misericordia 76, Lisbon 1200-273, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon > Encarnação
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercy Hotel is a Contemporary Five Star Boutique Hotel, very Charming, with a top location in Lisbon: between the districts of Bairro Alto and Chiado. The architectural project was signed by the acclaimed architect Miguel Saraiva, internationally wellknown and nominated for the Portuguese Real Estate Oscars 2012.The hotel offers 47 rooms, with 5 different room types to meet your needs, some with breathtaking views over the river or the Castle. On the top floor, 2 suites with a private small terrace with views over the rooftops of Lisbon. An asian restaurant is also available, a lounge bar, and an internet corner . Free internet wireless in bedrooms and public areas. Our staff will be happy to welcome you and help you in anyway you need! Lisbon Smiles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Escapio, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.