We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Lisbon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adega do Teixeira

Adega do Teixeira
Rua do Teixeira 39, Lisbon 1200-459, Portugal
+351213428320
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 2,363 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ha una pagina su facebook
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Authentic Lisbon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food here was absolutely lovely. We went as a group of 4, the men had steak (which was tender and described as 'fantastic') and the ladies ate a fish dish which was for 2 people and comprised of 3 different catches of the day. It was delicious, fresh and well cooked.

The owner of the restaurant is very friendly, maybe a little eccentric but it adds to the charm. The Super Bock beer flows freely, he brings you an ice bucket of bottles of beer and literally tells you to help yourself, open the next as you wish!

It was very popular all through the night and we went their on a Monday evening. I am certain you would have to book at the weekends!

Worth a visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    16
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh fish in a friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is the perfect place to eat fresh fish at very good prices with no fuss. The staff is extremely friendly and shows you a basket of fresh fish / meat to choose from along with all necessary explanations. Great place highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Great for groups, great for couples, the service stands out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Bairro Alto is swarming with great quality restaurants so for somewhere to stand out it really needs to provide something in and above. This charming leafy restaurant benefits from its charming staff, incredibly-reasonable prices (incl. wine) and quality food. This is not fancy cooking by any means but it is hearty food with good quality ingredients they proudly show off - slabs of thick fresh steaks wheeled out on a trolley for you.
FOOD: My dad and I ate here lateish in the evening and quickly settled upon the steaks which were brought out for us as I mentioned. The cover here is particularly generous with cheese, fresh breads, olives, fresh butter and THICK slices cured ham (like Serrano) which was meltingly delicious. Our mains of steaks came with slices of potato which are fried like chips. Analogous to gratin potato slices - but fried. The red wine we had was light and very smooth.
SERVICE: The two guys who run the service really make the place. They are hilarious - it is clear they have worked here for a very long time and enjoy interacting with the customers. There is a sense of miraculous clumsiness about them which despite their experience and effortless organisation.
We at here a second time which I will review separately but safe to say this place is great for couples, family, friends, large jovial groups or even dining alone for one if you are on business travel and want to check out atmospheric Bairro Alto in an unpretentious restaurant while wearing jeans.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tell people you're going for the coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just GO!

The best presentation and pride of service I have ever experienced world wide. Fair, almost cheap prices for the quality of the food, the personalized care and the ultra cool that this little place is.

Wine? Better than the best of France
Bread and cheese? Unique and tasty
Entrees? A whole cart of fresh meats and fish wheeled out for you to choose from
Desert? It's always what ever is local and fresh - mellon, peaches or pears in port wine.

After dinner coffee? THIS IS THE, (repeat THE) REASON TO GO. The most incredible presentation of coffee in the world. It taste's great too! Mary Shelley (the author of Frankenstein) must have come up with the 19th century chemistry lab equipment these fine men use to make simple coffee. A sort of bunsen burner - hourglass affair, that percolates your perfect coffee as you watch and reflect on the best meal you've eaten in years, if not your whole life.

Just let Jose tell you what to eat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Dining Experience We Had in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a great experience we enjoyed at this restaurant. We were celebrating a birthday. Our waiter, Jose, was totally into being sure we loved everything about the Adego. We were so enthralled with him that we let him bring us whatever he thought we would like (at very reasonable prices, I might add!) Before we decided whether to go with meat or fish, he rolled out a table of raw veal chops so we could see the quality (they looked great), and another table with lots of fresh whole fish of many types. He explained each one to us and how he would prepare it. We couldn't really decide on which fish to choose so he chose two of them and prepared dishes with some of each fish for us. He also recommended delicious wines that again were very reasonably priced. We started the meal with huge juicy slices of melon and prociutto, olives, cheeses, breads. The entire evening was one we will never forget. The espresso we had to end the meal was made tableside in a very unusual pot. And the peaches and port for dessert were perfect! Go if you can. You won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega do Teixeira also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Adega do Teixeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adega do Teixeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.