We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Amora Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Amora Guesthouse to your Saves list
Casa Amora Guesthouse
Rua Joao Penha no 13, Lisbon 1250-131 , Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We arrived after midnight but Juan was there to greet us. He said that we were guests in the house an could use the kitchen for refreshments, tea, coffee, water, biscuits and fruit throughout our stay, which we did. The breakfast was excellent, including homemade 'rice pudding' and juices which were delicious.
There is also an excellent non tourist restaurant around the corner, Agua Livre, see a separate review.
It was a little noisy due to inconsiderate guests next door who slammed doors and argued but this can happen anywhere. The Casa is located in a non tourist area but the metro at Rato is close by and you can be in the centre with 10 mins.
The room includes WiFi, ipod docs and a smart TV that receives several English speaking channels.
Unfortunately I had my pocket picked on the first day on tram 28, a common experience in Lisbon which we were warned about. I called Juan who helped us to the Restourades police station to report it, together with many other similar victims. Don't let this put you off visiting Lisbon but do keep your valuables safe and only carry the minimum of cash required.
Our flight was late in the day and thankfully the owner Louis gave us a late checkout with no charge. This is why we now stay in B&Bs and Guest House rather than hotel chains, you get better value for money and a real personal service.

Room Tip: If you want somewhere to relax choose the duplex which includes a lounge with a bedroom on a mezzani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, General Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Moikenuk ,

Than you so much for the wonderful comment , we appreciate it so much.We are very happy you enjoyed your trip with us and wish you sorted out all the credit card issues.Once again we hope those pickpockets get a cramp where they don't want one. I am always happy to help with ANYTHING!

We are happy that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and cant wait to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Juan , Nita ,Luis & Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
228
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norderney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent a 3 great days in this beautiful house in April. Great breakfast, made with love, like the whole house. If there is anything what might not be perfect, the Juan will make it perfect. We felt us wellcome from the first moment. It was really like a home for a three days long. I can recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, General Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Cafefriedrich,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment.I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for everything.I will always try my best to make you feel at home.You know my saying 'If your happy then so am i ' .

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This wonderful B & B should be used as an example of best practice in the hospitality world! Room was warm (rain & chilly outside!) with comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, ample towels. We were given our own key to come & go as we wished; tea, coffee, fruit, sweets and biscuits were available all day in the kitchen, where one could sit at a table or on a comfortable settee. My one regret is that the weather was too chilly to have breakfast in the lovely verdant patio area - next time! We arrived early but were offered a hot drink until Juan arrived. We then had an intensive course in what to do, where to go, what to see, where to eat, how to get there!! in Lisbon. A lot to take in but invaluable as we found over the next three days. We appreciated the fact that Juan was available every morning to elucidate, clarify and generally point us in the right direction. We noticed that, although the general advice was the same, he was aware of different guests' preferences and helped accordingly. Thank you to Anita for the wonderful breakfasts - tortilla, egg custard, freshly juiced pears, apples, oranges, bread, meat, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, cake - you will not find anything as good anywhere in the world! And Juan for the banana bread - need more next time! A little away from the centre but all the better for it. I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Alisoun ,

Thank you so much for your fantastic comment , i am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and you know you are always welcome to come stay with us again.

It was such a pleasure meeting you and i am always delighted to help.

We are very satisfied that you enjoyed the breakfast and Nita said you should hurry back soon.

Best Regards.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

A special spot that offers a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with generous-sized bathrooms, tasty breakfast, in a convenient location at an excellent price. It was an easy walk (at least down the hill) to most popular sights in Lisbon. There is a close-by subway station and taxis on the street if you are looking for alternative transportation - especially back up the hill at the end of a long day of sightseeing. The orientation to the city and the restaurant recommendations were extremely helpful and the walking tour that Juan offered (cost is extra) was a highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear fhGeorgia ,

Thank you so much for you comment , we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We really appreciate your comment and i am truly honored that you enjoyed the tour and that it was the highlight of your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Juan , Nita , Luis & Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic break in Lisbon staying at Casa Amora. Casa Amora was perfect; our host Juan couldn't have been more helpful; nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were great too and Anita treated us to some lovely home made cooking. The room was excellent, very nicely decorated and equipped with everything we needed. The location was great too; close to an underground station and with a nice park near by. We would happily come back and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Ben ,

It was a absolute pleasure to help you with everything i can.We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and cant wait to see you again in the near future , Nita say you must hurry back so that you can taste her new delicacy's .

Regards
Juan , Nita , Luis & Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I'll be honest, I am a regular user of TripAdvisor but I'm fairly lazy when it comes to writing reviews. But Casa Amora is truly something special. Juan, our incredibly helpful host welcomed us at the door and provided us with a thorough orientation to Lisbon along with maps, books, restaurant and tour suggestions. Juan was available by phone 24hrs a day, he was always on hand to ask about our plans and offer suggestions and he even made a local hangover cure for my wife. Unfortunately we had 4 rain soaked days in Lisbon and because of the weather we didn't see the city at its best. But because of Juan and the staff at Casa Amora, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear AMereMale ,

Thank you so much for your kind and amazing words.We try our best to make every guest feel at home and i am always there to help.We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will see you again in the near future.

See you again soon.

Regards
Juan & Nita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 4 days in lovely Lisnon:) Casa Amora is a fantastic guesthouse and Juan was very welcoming and friendly with helpful tips that helped make our trip thank you. The breakfast was lovely and the home cooking amazing too thank you Anita:) All in all we had a great trip and hope to be back soon. Victoria and Gary.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear VictoriaA1975 ,

Thank you so much for your WONDERFUL comment , we really appreciate it and are delighted that you had such an amazing experience with us.

We hope to see you again soon and regards to Gary.

Hugs

Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Amora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amora Guesthouse

Address: Rua Joao Penha no 13, Lisbon 1250-131 , Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Amora is a typical building of Lisbon’s early twentieth century petite bourgeoisie, renovated in 2012, with a small outdoor patio for rest or meals and 5 bedrooms (all with bathroom). Each room pays homage to one of the great figures of Portuguese art (painting, music, literature, film) of the last century. The process of renewal and adaptation carefully kept all the decorative elements existing in the rooms (plaster) and exterior (tiles, balcony), introducing a color palette that contributes to a peaceful and relaxing environment. Casa Amora is located in one of the nicest and most central districts of Lisbon, Praça das Amoreiras. In this neighborhood, where the 18th century Aqueduct (that survived the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755) reaches and end, Casa Amora is neighbor to Water Museum (Museu da Mae de Agua) and the Vieira da Silva / Arpad Szenes museum. Residents and visitors have easy and direct access to the neighborhoods of antique shops (Rua de Sao Bento and Rua da Escola Politecnica), historic districts (Bairro Alto and Chiado), Avenida da Liberdade and its fashion shops as well as the shopping center Amoreiras, all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Amora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Amora Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.