We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redundant, but I can't help myself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Amora Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Casa Amora Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Amora Guesthouse
Rua Joao Penha no 13, Lisbon 1250-131 , Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 134 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Westlake Village, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Redundant, but I can't help myself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I read all the reviews before booking Casa Amora and the 5 stars are so well deserved. I can add nothing to what has already been said, except to say it is all true. Juan and Luis are amazing. The care they take with their guests is Ritz Carlton quality on steroids; done with more effort and humanity. The house and breakfasts are fabulous too, as everyone says.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Kim ,

I had such a great time with you guys and already miss the laughs we shared in the morning.I am very happy that you enjoyed it and we are grateful for your sincere and beautiful comment.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
165
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Casa Amora is the type of guest house/b&b that will sit down with you and plan your entire stay if you're interested. Juan planned a perfect intro weekend to Portugal for us! We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts and our room was great.. so spacious. Overall, Casa Amora is an amazing value and I would highly recommend it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Cory D ,

Wow we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and thanks you for the great compliment.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The welcome from Juan and Luis and the information they provided made our stay at Casa Amora and our first visit to Lisbon quite special. Juan sat with us and went over the map, told us where to visit and good places to eat and offered to help us any time, even after we had left Lisbon.

The breakfasts were delicious with something different every day; more Portuguese than Americana. Being Christmas, there were some festive foods on offer, such as Bolo Rei. It is a small hotel and quite intimate and the breakfast area has inside seating and a courtyard. We stayed in a small studio with kitchenette, across the lane from the main building. The bathroom was pretty compact but had everything you need, except a bath. But there are other rooms with baths. Luis organised an evening at a Fado for us which was very enjoyable.

The location is not too touristy but has everything you need. The viaduct museum opposite is worth a visit. It is not too far to Estrela Cathedral and Tram 28 which will take you to central Lisbon.

We would definitely go back to Casa Amora and will recommend it to others. Luis plans to expand and with their attention to customer service they should do very well.

Room Tip: The studio room we stayed in is quiet but the bathroom a bit small and no bath. I believe the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear MelbourneEchidna ,

Thank you for your comment , we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and apreciate the feedback.Whenever you are in portugal agin do not hesitate to always call and come say hi.

Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights at this gem. Very nice house superbly renovated. Luis and Juan were very welcoming and helpful. Special mention to the breakfast prepared by the the wonderful Anita as it is one to remember.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed at Casa Amora in the summer and it was a truly lovely stay. Our host, Juan, was very welcoming and gave us some great tips on arrival including a restaurant we visited later on which we enjoyed very much. He also provided us with maps and a TimeOut which were really useful as that meant we didn't have to go to a tourist office to get them.

Atmosphere
The hotel was always quiet and peaceful and provided a great place to relax after a day spent walking around under the sun. There's a lovely little courtyard outside the kitchen which you can use during breakfast and which is usually empty in the day meaning you can spend time there if you don't want to stay in your room.

Food
Breakfast was a buffet and outside of it, you could also get drinks and fruit from the kitchen (these are added to your tab).

Room
Each room is decorated according to a particular theme and ours (Amalia) was really beautiful. It was located on the first floor and came with a small balcony. We were opposite the kitchen but I didn't find it noisy. The only negative about our room was that our bathroom was separated from the rest of the room by a curtain which looked very charming, however, the toilet behind was very small and did not have a 'roof' above it so you could tell when it was being used. However, there was a toilet just outside the room so you could avoid that issue.

Location
Location-wise, the guesthouse is in a central location although we usually took a train or a taxi. Walking into the very centre of town takes about 15 or 20 minutes. The guesthouse is a little difficult for taxis to find, so you may want to ask taxis to stop off at the Rossio station (after your first visit).

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Amora and would definitely recommend it to others looking for a slightly different yet charming alternative to bigger hotels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you are having trouble deciding where to stay in Lisbon, I promise you you will not regret staying at Casa Amora. Immediately upon arrival Juan went the extra mile (literally, but we won't get into that here! He saved us from some potential rental car insanity). Both Juan and Luis were great hosts and very helpful. The accommodations are clean, spacious and aesthetically pleasing. We wished we had chosen to spend more time in Lisbon, so if and when we return I wouldn't even bother to research another accommodation, as there is no question we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraine, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Upon our arrival, we were welcomed by Juan who immediately made us feel at home. His recommendations for things to do and see in Lisbon were spot on. We very much wished that we would have been able to stay longer. We stayed in the Amalia room and it was beautiful in every way, including a tiny balcony that looked upon the street below. The shower was a bit tricky temperature wise, but not a problem. Breakfast was very, very good, with fresh coffee, pastries, bread, wonderful homemade sweets and savories by Miss Nita. We had to leave early our last morning and Miss Nita arrived early to make breakfast for us. Superb! We would most definitely recommend Casa Amora and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Amora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amora Guesthouse

Address: Rua Joao Penha no 13, Lisbon 1250-131 , Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Amora is a typical building of Lisbon’s early twentieth century petite bourgeoisie, renovated in 2012, with a small outdoor patio for rest or meals and 5 bedrooms (all with bathroom). Each room pays homage to one of the great figures of Portuguese art (painting, music, literature, film) of the last century. The process of renewal and adaptation carefully kept all the decorative elements existing in the rooms (plaster) and exterior (tiles, balcony), introducing a color palette that contributes to a peaceful and relaxing environment. Casa Amora is located in one of the nicest and most central districts of Lisbon, Praça das Amoreiras. In this neighborhood, where the 18th century Aqueduct (that survived the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755) reaches and end, Casa Amora is neighbor to Water Museum (Museu da Mae de Agua) and the Vieira da Silva / Arpad Szenes museum. Residents and visitors have easy and direct access to the neighborhoods of antique shops (Rua de Sao Bento and Rua da Escola Politecnica), historic districts (Bairro Alto and Chiado), Avenida da Liberdade and its fashion shops as well as the shopping center Amoreiras, all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Amora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Amora Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.