We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Amora Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Amora Guesthouse to your Saves list
Casa Amora Guesthouse
Rua Joao Penha no 13, Lisbon 1250-131 , Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Exquisite guesthouse under flawless management..beats many boutique hotels. Upmarket location with affordable restaurants and the metro a short stroll away. Worth every cent, looking forward to returning to the long breakfasts on the terrace..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Henry ,

It was such a pleasure having the both of you over , when the next Lisbon Triathlon is upon us you dont have any excuse to choose another guest house :) We will welcome you with open arms and make sure your next stay is even better than the previous one.

Hope to see you again soon.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Joao
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
225
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This has been, hands down, my best accommodation experience ever. When you set foot at Casa Amora, you can't but be amazed by the exceptional charm that surrounds the place, the great decoration of the rooms, kitchen, patio, and just about everything else. The breakfast is amazing, and there's always some fruits/baked goods to nibble on during the day in between meals. Juan and Luis were truly exceptional hosts, and they really went completely out of their way for us during our stay (in a really natural way). If you can manage to find a room there ( we booked 5 months in advance ), book it with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Ziad ,

Wow , we are truly honored to have been your best accommodation experience ever.We cant begin to say how grateful we are to have had you here and to have met all your expectations.Both me and Luis thank you for your generous comment .We hope that you will return soon .

Thank You again.
Juan ,Nita , Luis & Joao
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Juan and Luis are the most perfect hosts and this is the most perfectly comfortable place to stay. We have stayed in two of their rooms and they are so comfortable and beautifully laid out, you feel special. One thing that is important to us is great pillows and great bed linen (sad I know but we are over 40 and who wants to sleep in average beds). Here you have a great nights sleep. Juan is a kindred spirit and cannot do enough to make sure you have a brilliant time. Casa Amore is now our home from home, this is our second trip and there will be many more.

Room Tip: Splash out and go for the mezzanine room, it is so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear bettws_boogie ,

Thank you for the wonderful comment , we take pride in the way we make up our rooms and make sure you are as comfortable as possible on your holiday , we cant wait for you and your husband to return and bring your friends.Your stay with us really enlightened everyone and we already miss both of you.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Joao
The Casa Amora Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this location after consulting the tripadvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed! As we arrived very early in Lisbon, the accommodation manager Juan (aka John) offered to keep our bags, so we could scout Lisbon without carrying those bags until our room was ready. This was a good example how service orientated these people are. This continued throughout our three day stay. Juan took a lot of time to point out the must-see items of Lisbon.
The room was very clean, nicely decorated, luxuries and had a perfect bed. Very very good.

The breakfast was also in-line with the high score; it was very good, of high quality, with Portuguese specialities and served with many smiles and good humour of the cook Nita. As an example, the orange juice was made on the spot for you, but also some unconventional (from a Dutch point of view) pancakes were irresistible.

The following negatives were of little concern to us but to balance this very positive review:
The toilet was somewhat tiny. I'm 1.92 and couldn't close door between the toilet and the rest of the bathroom.
As I had a terrible cold, I quit often needed a waste bin for my used tissues. This wasn't available with exception of a tiny bin in the toilet (not in the bedroom).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Dirk ,

Thank you very much for the sincere comment , as you said we are very service orientated and try our best to keep everyone happy and satisfied.We are thrilled that our service met your expectations.

It was a pleasure to have both you and our wife with us for your stay and hope you manage to came back soon.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Joao
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This guesthouse is a real insider tip. Next to a beautyful little parc and a part of the auqueduct, next to the center, really near to the metro station and 15min by feet away from the historical center of the town.
I passed my birthday with my mum in this amazing guesthouse and I loved the house, the rooms with the beautyful furniture and the high attention and love to detail, the winter garden and the patio. Great atmosphere! It feels like home!
The whole team of the guesthouse is very very friendly, kind, adorable, humorous, interested, motivated and always helpful. Especially Juan who cares about every guest, as if we were part of his familiy. We've got a lot of great insider tips for attractions and restaurants.
The breakfast was delicious, every day diferent, handmade fresh things to eat and diferent juices.

Thank you guys for make my birthday so special and unforgettable, thank you for the delicous little cake and the serenade!

OBRIGADA

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Corinna ,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us , we had a wonderful time spoiling you and hope you stay the beautiful bubbly person you are.We are happy to see that you enjoyed it with us and thank you also for the wonderful comment.

Hope to see you gain soon and hugs to your mom.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Joao
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautifully decorated rooms, comfortable beds, spotless, delicious home-made breakfast, quiet neighbourhood within walking distance from the historical centre (metro is also close by), very warm & friendly welcome from everyone at Casa Amora... I was even given a room upgrade! What more can I say? I would definitely stay there again.

Jessica

Room Tip: The Superior Suite Duplex is amazing. Spacious and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Jessica ,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay just as much as we enjoyed having you stay with us.We hope you will return again soon and that everything is good in the future.

Than you again.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Joao
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Casa Amora and wished we had booked an extra night. The room was tastefully furnished and very clean. Breakfast was sumptuous and the hosts delightful, helpful and very welcoming. The guesthouse is situated in a quiet street close to a leafy park with a couple of restaurants nearby. The metro is only minutes walk away to take you anywhere in Lisbon, although the walk into town was very pleasant. We would not hesitate to recommend this "home from home" and intend to visit again next time we are in Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanHenning, Manager at Casa Amora Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We want to thank you again for choosing to stay with us , we hope you had a memorable stay and decide to come back very soon.

Juan , Nita , Luis & Joao
The Casa Amora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Amora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amora Guesthouse

Address: Rua Joao Penha no 13, Lisbon 1250-131 , Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Amora is a typical building of Lisbon’s early twentieth century petite bourgeoisie, renovated in 2012, with a small outdoor patio for rest or meals and 5 bedrooms (all with bathroom). Each room pays homage to one of the great figures of Portuguese art (painting, music, literature, film) of the last century. The process of renewal and adaptation carefully kept all the decorative elements existing in the rooms (plaster) and exterior (tiles, balcony), introducing a color palette that contributes to a peaceful and relaxing environment. Casa Amora is located in one of the nicest and most central districts of Lisbon, Praça das Amoreiras. In this neighborhood, where the 18th century Aqueduct (that survived the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755) reaches and end, Casa Amora is neighbor to Water Museum (Museu da Mae de Agua) and the Vieira da Silva / Arpad Szenes museum. Residents and visitors have easy and direct access to the neighborhoods of antique shops (Rua de Sao Bento and Rua da Escola Politecnica), historic districts (Bairro Alto and Chiado), Avenida da Liberdade and its fashion shops as well as the shopping center Amoreiras, all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Amora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Amora Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.