We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will see it almost from any point of the city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The 25th of April Bridge

The 25th of April Bridge
Ponte 25 de Abril, Lisbon, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 217 attractions in Lisbon
Type: Bridges
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This suspension bridge across the Tagus River has the longest central span in Europe, at 1.5 miles. It also looks quite a bit like San Francisco's famed "Golden Gate Bridge," though this one was named after the revolution.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“You will see it almost from any point of the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well this is not a "real attraction", it´s just a bridge, unless you are very interested on this kind of subject, the only thing will turn this off of an ordinary bridge rate is the fact to be very similiar to the world wide known San Francisco bridge. In fact was the same construction company making both.

Basically you don´t need to travel to a specific place of the city to see it, obviously there´s some key spots.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    143
    36
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Golden Gate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Looks a lot like Golden Gate in San Francisco. I personally like Golden Gate a lot so it was very fun for me to see 25 de Abril. It's moderately long and it stand pretty high. If you're staying in Lisbon I'd recommend you to go see it and maybe take a ride over it. The bad thing i s that pedestrians cannot cross it. It would be very nice to go for a walk over it, like you can do on Golden Gate.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Can be a hassle or a blessing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It all depends on the traffic. If you happen to be there around 800-930 or 1700-2000 and if on top of it there was the slightest accident, you've asked for it. Be prepared to sit there for long, even hours. If not and you can drive freely, WOW what a scenery!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“San Francisco in Lisboa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Is a replica of San Francisco Golden Gate and you can watch it really well from the square in the center area so you don't have to come there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,186 reviews 1,186 reviews
920 attraction reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
“Impressive majestic bridge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had heard a lot about this bridge, much like the Golden Gate in San Francisco.
I had the pleasure to visit it very closely, and I assure you that it is a majestic architectural work and impressive.
Unfortunately it is not possible to cross it on foot and having the perfect view up on it and the only way to see it is from the street below.
Personally, having taken the train from Lisbon southbound I was lucky enough to cross it entirely by train, even though it was pretty quick I was able to enjoy the marvelous views over the bay and much of the city.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 25th of April Bridge also viewed

 

Been to The 25th of April Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 25th of April Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The 25th of April Bridge to your Saves list