We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Gate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 25th of April Bridge

The 25th of April Bridge
Ponte 25 de Abril, Lisbon, Portugal
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$28*
and up
Private Tour: Tagus River Sunset Cruise in Lisbon
Ranked #50 of 439 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This suspension bridge across the Tagus River has the longest central span in Europe, at 1.5 miles. It also looks quite a bit like San Francisco's famed "Golden Gate Bridge," though this one was named after the revolution.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Golden Gate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Looks a lot like Golden Gate in San Francisco. I personally like Golden Gate a lot so it was very fun for me to see 25 de Abril. It's moderately long and it stand pretty high. If you're staying in Lisbon I'd recommend you to go see it and maybe take a ride over it. The bad thing i s that pedestrians cannot cross it. It would be very nice to go for a walk over it, like you can do on Golden Gate.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    241
    62
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Can be a hassle or a blessing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It all depends on the traffic. If you happen to be there around 800-930 or 1700-2000 and if on top of it there was the slightest accident, you've asked for it. Be prepared to sit there for long, even hours. If not and you can drive freely, WOW what a scenery!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“San Francisco in Lisboa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Is a replica of San Francisco Golden Gate and you can watch it really well from the square in the center area so you don't have to come there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,863 reviews
1,512 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 842 helpful votes
“Impressive majestic bridge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had heard a lot about this bridge, much like the Golden Gate in San Francisco.
I had the pleasure to visit it very closely, and I assure you that it is a majestic architectural work and impressive.
Unfortunately it is not possible to cross it on foot and having the perfect view up on it and the only way to see it is from the street below.
Personally, having taken the train from Lisbon southbound I was lucky enough to cross it entirely by train, even though it was pretty quick I was able to enjoy the marvelous views over the bay and much of the city.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“The only thing left for us to do is walk on it !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have flown over it , sailed under it ,been numerous times in a train over it , driven over it in our car , been driven in a coach over it , taxi over it , once a passenger in a lorry & we are always pleased to admire this wonderful piece of engineering ,& to see the breath taking views ,,,,maybe in the future some one will set something up like the Sydney Bridge a walk over ??

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 25th of April Bridge also viewed

 

Been to The 25th of April Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 25th of April Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.