We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay here, very good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Palacio Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Real Palacio Hotel to your Saves list
Real Palacio Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Tomas Ribeiro, 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our stay here, very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Star ratings can be very misleading; this hotel charges a lot less than you would expect for a '5' star. Yes, the carpets have ingrained stains in places, unfortunate choice of colour (creamy beige). That aside, there were no scuff marks on the walls of the corridor to our room (fifth floor), the decor in our room was fresh and unmarked and everywhere in the hotel spotlessly clean and polished. (We did not use the gym area so cannot speak for that).

Breakfast was very varied and of high quality. Other reviews have mentioned poor coffee at breakfast, but that was easily remedied by asking one of the many staff to bring an espresso/whatever, which they did very promptly and obligingly, at no charge. The (English speaking) staff were all very helpful at all times. They cheerily helped us with an online checkin problem for our return flight. Thank you in particular to the lovely Susanna who greeted us very warmly at breakfast in the morning, and even taught us some Portugese.

The neighbourhood is quiet, safe and residential, our room, 523 was great and overlooked the street, very little traffic at night. Bin men do keep some odd hours, but the earliest we heard them was at 7.45am. Whilst it is not a central location, this hotel is on the right side of town for the airport (c15 euros). It is very easy and quick to get to central Lisbon on the metro, no change of line needed. The Lisbon Card with unlimited travel and free/discounted entry to museums etc is very good value and worth getting.

Another good safety feature is that access to the lift is only permitted with a key card, so no worries about non residents loitering in the corridors.

Finally, great selection of English channels on the TV, and free, no hassle wifi.

Room Tip: Our room, 523, was great and had a floor length window. Bathroom very spacious, bidet, deep bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    449
    116
    33
    12
See reviews for
157
545
67
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel / ok priced / 20-25 minutes to centro. Close to Cortes inglés.
Absolutly NOT 5 stars. 4 at the most, but the price reflects that.
Next time I would stay closer to centro
Did not try restaurant but it look nice & a nice bar with barfood all day. Only 1 restaurant - not 2 on this hotel. The other was only for breakfirst.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Agreed that is not an overwhelming 5 star "wow" hotel.
What it is, is a well run, comfortable, clean hotel.
We enjoyed breakfast, even if it was overpriced.
Our room was large enough and comfortable.
The mini fridge is small and could be colder.
The TV is excellent for its English channel choices, and the free WIFI is exceptional, no caps or time limits and easy to log in and use across all devices.
It is centrally located, I think.., 200m from the El Corte Ingles shops and right near the "red line" metro and so super easy to get everywhere.
We're on the 5th floor and very quiet, very little road noise, bed was a little hard, which I liked but my wife did not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have stayed a few times in this hotel, what means that what it offers has been sufficient for me to go back. However, after a new stay, this time in room 133, including a first visit to the spa, I conclude that the hotel should not be considered a 5 stars. Here are my reasons: the room was a bit tight and I could hardly open the large suit case I was travelling with; the air con didn't allow me to graduate the temperature; there were no bathrobes in the room; bathrobes were not given in the spa either; the spa closet had no hangers and the its key was not attached to anything (e.g. a rubber strap) which would allow it to be easily carried to the steam or to the jacuzzi; the breakfast room was overcrowded and people had to wait for a seat. In spite of this, I still consider the Real Palacio a good deal.

Room Tip: I didn't like room 133.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Wife and i just had 3 night break at this Hotel. Have to say a little bit dissappointed with this hotel overall.
Plus marks :- the rooms are clean with plenty of storage, Staff are helpful and location makes its easy to get into city centre(Metro station 3 mins walk away)
Minus marks :- Breakfast is poor and abit of a dog fight if you hit it when other guest are there, Spa smells and is it be honest very poor(jacuzzi was stone cold), if eating/drinking in hotel the prices are very expensive, the worst part about hotelk is the matteress on bed is the firmest i've ever come across, not very comfortable(wife had to put extra blankets under her side of the matteress)
Overall for price paid it was passable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel did not entirely correspond to your expectations.
We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our 5-star rating, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive.

Thank you for your constructive comments, which will be taken into consideration.
If you ever visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us before as we will be pleased to prepare your bed with mattress toppers, which we trust will help to make your next stay with us more comfortable and enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Seamless check in. Soundproofed rooms mean that ones slumber is not disturbed. Very clean. Staff are efficient and friendly. Gym is small but adequately equipped. Wifi now installed in the rooms thus aiding the business travel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comment on TripAdvisor and for pointing out the details of our service and the professionalism and friendliness of our staff.
Thank you also for emphasizing the wifi access in the rooms.

We would like to invite you to follow our website and our Tripadvisor page, where you can find our promotions directly.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palacio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Great stay. Good location, great price. More than enough for adventurers who want economic comfort. Staff was awesome and the rooms were very clean. Bathrooms were modern. Only issue was the overly hard bed, but it helped my back. All in all a great stay.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for pointing out the details of service.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Palacio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Palacio Hotel

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro, 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#48 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#53 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#56 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Palacio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Real Palacio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Palacio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.