We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so 5*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Real Palacio Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Real Palacio Hotel to your Saves list
Real Palacio Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Tomas Ribeiro, 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not so 5*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for five nights. and really don't know how it got 5* rating. The public areas are wonderfully polished and staff very friendly, but the rooms are simply average. The furniture is just functional, nothing fancy about it. Rooms aren't that well equipped - no comfortable chair, no tea/coffee/biscuits, just standard furniture and a rather hard bed. The bathroom is clean and tidy, but average. The free internet connection in the rooms isn't wifi as you might expect - you need to request a cable from reception and you plug in to the wall - clearly that's okay for laptops but no good for phones. The gym is tiny and doesn't open until 9am - no good at all if you want a workout before your meetings. But, the food in the restaurant is prety good and as I said, staff are really helpful and professional. There's free wifi in the lobby. I was given a voucher for breakfast for 12Eur, So yesh, it was okay, just not 5*.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, specially for your kind comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of our team, which were really appreciated.
We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

Please be assured that also your other comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. We have the pleasure to inform you that the wi-fi availability in the rooms is already planned.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    451
    116
    33
    12
See reviews for
159
547
67
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We pre-paid for 5 nights on Expedia, @ about $80.00 US per night. The hotel is advertised as a 5 STAR... it is not. More like a 3... maybe. The hotel website offered airport transfer arrangements by taxi/private car for 32 Euro! But the hotel said it was not available and if we wanted transport we had to pay 50 Euro for it!!! Taking advantage of weary travelers, we agreed and it was a mercedes cab like most others in Lisbon and we were charged 50 Euro by the hotel. The average Cab Fare to and from the airport to the hotel is ONLY 14 Euro!!! So beware of this hotel scam. We paid 14 Euro for the return in a Mercedes Taxi.
Seems the hotel doesn't get enough for a nightly rate so they stick it to guests with this scam and a 20 Euro per person charge for the buffet breakfast with runny liquid eggs and cold coffee.

The room was average 3 star at best the worst thing is that the carpets are old and moldy, spotted and stink of mildew. You could smell them all through the night!! We kept our shoes on or socks. We were on the second floor front (very noisey area) there are cabs, buses, trucks and motorcycles loading and dropping off guests all night long. You will not sleep at this hotel if you are in the front rooms on the lower floors.

The staff was OK but nothing special, the hotel is in a dull, kind of dirty area (lots of grafitti) you must walk 2-3 miles or take a short cab ride to the city center, river front and shopping. there is a nice grocery store very close and the Sheraton Hotel is 3 blocks away. The lobby and halls are OK but the rooms are not clean & fresh or apportioned as 5 star hotels go.

This was the worst part of our 3 week trip thoughout Europe. The hotel can sometimes make or break the total vacation experience... Stay elsewhere..

Room Tip: See the room first and beware of the carpets, higher floors away from street. If you pre-pay you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest
We were surprised that you were not satisfied with the quality of the service, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive.

A few clarifications:
- The hotel organizes transfers at a price of 50euros, because this is done in a private car (merdedes or similar) and the driver speaks English, French, Italian, according to the nationality of the customer. The service is personalized and made with the utmost professionalism.
- We would also like to mention that the carpets in our rooms are washed regularly and vacuumed daily. Some however have stains, that cannot be removed, although we tried everything and applied different products, but they all are in good hygienic conditions and it is perfectly safe to walk on them barefoot. We understand however that the visual impact is important and keep therefore replacing carpets in the rooms almost constantly.
- About our location we would like to clarify that we are located in one of the noblest districts of central Lisbon, very close to 2 metro lines and in an area much calmer and safe than the historical center.

We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our 5-star rating, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive with many guests praising the helpfulness of our team and our service quality. We regret your experience has been so different but we will pass your comment on to the department heads and assure you that we will continue trying to always provide a high-quality service in all areas and circumstances.

Thank you for having left your feedback.
Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had stayed here in 2009 and were impressed enough to return.The hotel has been renovated on the ground floor and is now a very open and welcoming space with bar/restaurant and lovely outdoor dining and bar area. The finish in all areas of the hotel are of a very high order.The staff are wonderful, all with fluent English and helpful to a fault, a great asset to the hotel. The rooms are spacious and spotless, breakfast excellent, air con adjustable in the room, very welcome at 28 to 30 degrees at the time of our visit. The locality itself is a very quite and safe at night. I would agree with the other traveller recommendations for the Sessenta Restaurant just across the road, good value and flexible menu. I would also recommend the Lisboa Card, €38 per adult, which will cover travel on buses, trams, railways to Estoril, Sintra and Cascais and the funicular tram at Rossio Square and the Santa Justa Elevator. The Rossio tram alone is €3.60 per one way trip so €14.40 for two adults up and down!. Buy the card at the airport and travel to the centre by the new metro line at the Terminal 1 entrance. The convenience factor alone of the Lisboa Card is priceless as you appreciate when you see the hordes of tourists gathered around the ticket machines at every station trying to figure the fare structure, this can mean a long delay particularly at the train stations for Estoril and Sintra where there can be only one ticket booth open.
For 2 adults, we paid €320 for 4 nights bed and breakfast, unbeatable price and fantastic value. Another wonderful visit to a beautiful city and we will be back, and staying at the Real Palacio.

Room Tip: We had room 523 , it faces the road but is very quite at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
There is no bigger compliment than a guest who returns and/or is planning to return. We were therefore extremely happy that you enjoyed everything so much that you will return again!

Thank you so much. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team, who will be delighted too.

We have several special packages available and are therefore pretty sure that you will find a good deal, but if you require any assistance in choosing the most suitable for you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you for having left your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Real Palácio Hotel.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Turned up on a very hot Saturday morning to find that my reservation had been cancelled - as I'd booked with clever,hotels.com who went bust while we were in Portugal. Naturally devastated , but the staff were very cool and calm , got us a great room at a reasonable price. Hotel was a bit hard to find , free weekend parking very close by. Is a good 25 min walk to the historical district , but there is a bus stop nearby which got us there for 1.8 Euro's each , or 5 Euro's in a taxi on the way beck. Shame not to have much outdoor space , found there to be great choice at breakfast of both cooked food and fruit/cakes. Drinks were a bit pricey in the bar , but they did make the best Martini my wife had ever had. Some of the neighbouring properties were a bit shabby , there was a Ping Doce supermarket very close by to top up on lower priced fizzy drinks. A straight run back to the airport. Overall a very good choice . would have ben nicer to be a bit closer to the main centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 002 , no view - but pretty big and great AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, specially for your kind comments about the friendliness of our team, which were really appreciated.
We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Palácio Hotel and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Real Palacio so much in 2012 that I returned to hotel again in 2013. Great staff, very helpful and customer-centric. Very quiet and peaceful room. Great location, within walking distance of El Corte Ingles department store and two metro lines (Picoas stop and Sebastiao).

Two things restraining this hotel from excellent status:
1. Still no wifi in rooms. You need to go to lobby to use wifi. This is an inconvenience
and a customer dissatisfier. Fix this and you would be closer to excellence status.

2. One of the two elevators does not function properly. I boarded on the sixth
floor to go to lobby (level 0). The elevator appears to plummet, stalls and then
escalates back up to fifth floor. The first time I experienced this I was startled and
thought I was stuck in elevator. Within five days this problem still existed and is
it was normal function for an elevator to work in an erratic manner. The other
elevator functioned normally.

I look forward to my next visit in 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how many guests are either repeated guests, as you are, this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for.

Please be assured that also your other comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. Future wi-fi availability is already planned.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palácio Hotel.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very kind staff, nice sauna area (pool would make it even better!), close to the old city. All in all a great experience, would go again. The breakfast buffet was a special highlight for my husband and small child --- there was plenty to choose from and mix and match -perfect for small kids. :)

Room Tip: all rooms seemed fine; ours was
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you and your family have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the health centre and our rich and varied breackfast.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel is certainly not Five Star Standard. At best it has services and standards of a three star Hotel only. The Breakfast is in the basement and does not have even one window facing the sky/outside. Breakfast is poor and certilnly not five star quality. Number of dishes are limited for a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms do not have a good view. The uppermost floors may have a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Real Palacio Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.

We were surprised that you were not satisfied with the quality of the service, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive with many guests praising the friendliness of our team and we regret your experience has been so different but we will pass your comment on to the department heads and assure you that we will continue trying to always provide a high-quality service in all areas and circumstances.

We also will continue trying to correspond to as many different tastes and expectations as possible, but have to admit that it is challenging when it comes to food. The tastes and preferences of our guests are very diversified and different but we will continue trying to offer a selection, which suits different tastes and expectations.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Palacio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Palacio Hotel

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro, 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#46 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#53 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Palacio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Real Palacio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Palacio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.