We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, remote and overcrowded” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Real Palacio Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Real Palacio Hotel to your Saves list
Real Palacio Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Tomas Ribeiro, 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old, remote and overcrowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Big Hotel near Parque metro station tricky to find by car because of all the one way streets.
It was our second stay in Lissabon at the end of a round trip and the hotel was maybe fully booked.
To visit Lissabon it isn't the best location as you always have to take the metro into downtown or walk all the way down which takes about 20minutes.

The hotel is at most a good 4 star hotel. The Staff was awesome but i've never seen a such a breakfast party like this. The breakfast room was in the basement with no sun light or windows and pretty small. Several times in the morning there was a queue and we had to wait in front of the room until a table got free. The buffet was quite good but got totally overrun.

Our room was clean but pretty old as the whole hotel is.

I would totally recommend to take a room in a "pensao" or an appartment in Lissabon downtown as we did in the first part of our roundtrip and which was way better than this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    449
    116
    33
    12
See reviews for
159
545
67
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tana norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had the pleasure pf staying at Hotel Real Palacio 4 nights. The staff are absolute exelent , we felt treated like royalties the hole time. This was our first visit in Lisbon and Portugal. We had a suite in second floor with a nice litle balcony , very clean , nice shower , but on the minus side a little bit to hard bed. The kitchen did make special adjustment for our food alergy, at this time at year i think we did smart in our choice of hotel , its a bit colder closer to the big river. We will defently stay there again next time we visit Lisbon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just outside the hotel, there's many small restaurants and shops, it's a perfect location and nice to be away from the more crowded conditions of the city center.The breakfast buffet in the morning was a great way to start the day. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I thought the prices for the mini-bar in the room and hotel bar were way too high. Although the mini-bar with snack and drinks in the fridge in your room is a great idea and the nice hotel bar looked inviting, it priced itself of our business and many of the other guests business as well. That was ok because it encouraged us to go exploring and we found an incredible little restaurant on the next block. We went there 4 times during our week visit, it was THAT good! It's called the "Paixao aos Molhos" and it's a 2 minute walk from the hotel. When you step outside of the hotel, go to your right along the hotel, take the next left up the block and it's on the left hand side. It's easy to miss but well worth finding, it was one of the highlights of our trip.
2 blocks from the hotel, there's a huge mall and a park. At the bottom level of the mall is the metro, which takes you throughout the city, there are also bus stops everywhere so it's no problem getting around, we had to ask many questions but everyone was helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again, I already miss the hotel, the nice people and the incredible food.

Room Tip: 1st floor was nice location, it was easy to get back and forth to the main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Easy to find, 20 minutes from airport using Aerobus 1 (E3.50 per person) and five minutes walk from Parque Metro. Reception staff were excellent, friendly, good advice on where to go and what to see. Happy to look things up and book things for us. All other staff were helpful and polite.

Clean room with air con, firm comfortable bed, great bathroom. Quiet location. Good sauna.

Breakfast offering was huge and included full English, cereals, yogurts, cakes, toast, croissants, half a dozen cooked meats and about a dozen cheeses. Add in three juices, and a large selection of teas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The fantastic friendly and helpful staff really make the difference at the Real Palacio. It may be more 4 start than 5 in terms of the building/ rooms and similar but for what we paid we could not be happier and the staff could not have been more helpful. From the moment we arrive until checkout and beyond all staff were incredibly helpful from reception, to restaurant to the spa. Nothing was a problem or too much trouble, all helped with suggestions on getting into town and around, printing an urgent contract for my husband when he could not read it on his tablet not having brought a lap top, offered a late check out and more. Our room a suite was a great size, comfortable and quiet. The fed is fairly firm. We used the spa and gym facilities every day and they were great. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to the metro and buses. €11 by taxi from the airport, Near an excellent shopping centre and supermarkets. €6 for a 24 hour viva vigram card to use on any bus, metro or tram and and less that 10 min on the metro into the town centre.We really enjoyed our stay at the Real Palacio which was great value and had a lovely breakfast. Yes there are some minor maintenance issues but they do not detract from the stay and are reflected in the good value of the hotel. There is only wifi in the reception areas which they need to resolve. .

Room Tip: Room 302 very quiet with balcony but not the best view. There is no wifi in the room so if your lapt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room cost around $100 a night, the hotel is clean, quite, we slept well, the location isn't in the think of the action if your a tourist, but there are three different subway stops that are reasonably close to the hotel, which makes getting around really easy, (the day pass on the subway costs 6 Euro, and 50 for the card buy you can ride everything but the tourist buses, a great deal since each of the 3 funiculars costs 3.50 each way, the elevator is included and cost 5, and the 28 tram is also 3.50 each way, we probably would have spent more like 30 euro in one day).

The breakfast was nice to start the day, the only complaint I have is that our room was so hot that we had to keep the window open all night. Also, I should have seen this on their website, but I foolishly just assumed their would be wifi.... there isn't. In the lobby you can get it but it will cost you, in the room that isn't even available.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a great few days at the Real Palacio mostly thanks to the staff who seemed only too pleased to help with anything we needed. We arrived at the hotel before the designated 2pm check-in time, as we had taken the early BA from London, and noticed the couple in front of us kicking up a bit of a fuss about the hotel NOT having a room ready for them. When it came to our turn, we smiled sweetly to Paulo (the check-in assistant) and asked if we could sort the paperwork and leave our bags as we completely understood our room wouldn't be ready. I think he was so surprised that he let us use the spa to freshen up, and when we returned from our outing sometime later he had upgraded our room!! We also found the location good, very near the big department store and two Metro lines, one direct to the airport and the other into town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Palacio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Palacio Hotel

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro, 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#46 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#53 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Palacio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Real Palacio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Palacio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.