We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy,Good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dom Sancho I

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dom Sancho I to your Saves list
Hotel Dom Sancho I
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade 202, Lisbon 1250-140 Lisboa, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cosy,Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The rooms were rather on the small side but considering the price one would hardly complain.The location was very good for us as it was only a block from the Hard Rock Cafe which is where the majority of tourist busses pick up. (Viator etc.) The lock on our door didn't work but by the time we came back from a day out sightseeing it had been replaced. One of the reception staff had limited English,but the others were extremely well spoken and all were VERY helpful in regard to tours,sights etc. Breakfast was basic but enough to get you started for the day, I think if they had some eggs,even if hard boiled ,it would have made a big difference to just bread or rolls every morning. My general opinion is Small but Cosy rooms with friendly staff,I would stay there again if in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the main road or you may end up with a view of the back alley and clothesline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    114
    58
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
104
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is centrally located. Main attractions and the main plaza are all a walking distance from the hotel. You must take a few steps up before reaching the lift that takes you the 2nd floor where the hotel is located. The rooms are small but clean. The front desk was very helpful and accommodating. He recommended the breakfast and wi-fi package as a cheaper option. Very fast and reliable wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Lisbon. We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy overall. The location is very good. Situated on the picturesque Avenida Liberdade surrounded by upmarket shops, the central area of Lisbon is a pleasant 10 minute walk. Avenida metro station is 2 minutes away and there is a bus stop for the Aerobus to/from the airport nearby. The hotel itself is situated on the 2nd floor of a grand residential block. It is fairly basic but has a warm, cosy feel to it. The rooms are not massive in size but are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms perhaps could do with some updating as water leaked from underneath the bath and flooded the floor. All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to share tips about their city. We didn't have breakfast included but could pay 5 euros for breakfast if we wanted. We did this 1 morning and it was ok, nothing special. Just the usual standard continental cheese and ham, breads, tea/coffee, orange juice. Was probably worth 5 euros but not spectacular. My only real critisism of our stay is that because the rooms are located on the same floor as the breakfast area, you can hear clattering and banging of cups, plates etc from the staff from about 7am so not the place for a lie in! All in all though, a good hotel in a very good location. We paid just 20 euros per night. You will struggle to find a hotel of similar quality in this area of the city for that price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent location in the high rent district. The main square, Rossio, is a short 10 min walk away. The subway is a block away and resturants and shopping are all around and a few blocks to central Lisbon. The Dom Sancho is a basic 2 star facility, friendly and clean. Nice but simple buffet breakfast can be added. The 24 hour desk was always helpful and English was spoken. Internet access was available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The place is clean, but small. It is well located, the rooms are clean but small, beds are not so comfty, if you have back problems you better think twice about staying in here.
They have a "breakfast buffet" package, which is ok, but the brekfast is pretty basic and plain. If you like to eat lite breakfast then it is fine, but for the same price you can eat a lot better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Love this place, very well located, center of the city, close to subway, bus, and walking distance to main attractions in the city.They offer breakfast included in a great affordable rate per night. You wont be disappointed. This is a great choice to stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A perfect located hotel near subway station Avenida or walking distans to Rossio station and shopping. Clean room, serviceminded staff. The breakfast was included, but very simple. I.e coffee, toast, marmalade, chees and always overcooked "green" eggs,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dom Sancho I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom Sancho I

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 202, Lisbon 1250-140 Lisboa, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dom Sancho I 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dom Sancho I is located on the tree-lined Avenida Da Liberdade, close to Lisbon's shopping and entertainment districts. It offers comfortable rooms with dark wood furnishings and wooden floors.Each room is equipped with air conditioning and a work desk. All rooms at the Dom Sancho are fitted with flat-screen TVs.A varied buffet breakfast is served each morning. Dom Sancho Hotel provides a 24-hour front desk and a car rental service. Laundry and ironing services are also available.The hotel is close to the historic Parque Eduardo VII, and is less than 20-minutes by car to Portela Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dom Sancho I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Dom Sancho i Hotel Lisbon
Residencial Dom Sancho i Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dom Sancho I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.