We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel Lisbon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel Lisbon to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro n. 105, Lisbon 1099-031, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
60% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Haverhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I spent 3 days in the hotel in March. It was for my Birthday and the hotel did such a great job of making it a great one. I booked an executive room and it was worth it. From the moment you arrive they make you feel welcome. The room was clean quiet and comforatble with great view of the city. The executive lounge was great for breakfast and afternoon snack and all the employee were helpful. The location is great very convenient to get around the city. I plan to go backto Lisbon and this will be the place i will stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roderick M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with other travelers regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are delighted to understand that you had a good experience with us and your words of considering one of the best hotels anywhere make us feel very pride on the work we do and on the hospitality we deliver.

Again, we thank you for your confidence on Corinthia and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you return to Lisbon again.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    667
    173
    48
    27
See reviews for
381
902
73
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Corinthia Hotel Lisbon is a truly exceptional establishment. I am totally perplexed that is is not a Tripadvisor top ten hotel in the city. How is this possible? At first glance the Corinthia seems like another anonymous business hotel, but you quickly realise that this place has a special character and that it strongly believes in old-fashioned values of customer service, efficiency and immaculate appearance. My wife and I, together with our four-year old daughter, spent four nights there recently. We had a junior suite on the fourth floor and access to the fantastic executive lounge on the 24th floor. Our room was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean, and had every amenity that we required. Unlike a lot of modern hotels, the sound insulation was incredible; we did not hear any noise from our neighbours throughout our stay. The executive (sky) lounge was an unexpected delight. As well as wonderful views across Lisbon, light snacks (freshly made and enormously varied) and drinks were available throughout the day. Our daughter loved making use of this space and quickly renamed it the "treat room". We also had a bountiful breakfast in the sky lounge each morning. The other facility that we made use of was the pool. It was also immensely enjoyable; perfectly heated and clean, with an adjoining solarium. The hotel is perfectly located. Although it is north of the centre, it is close to attractions like the zoo, the Gulbenkian Museum, and the Spanish shopping mecca known as El Corte Ingles. There is also a metro station across the street and a taxi rank directly outside the door (taxis in Lisbon are remarkably affordable). Apart from the extraordinary standards achieved by this hotel in terms of resources and services, its other greatest asset is its good-natured staff. Nothing was too much for any representative of the hotel that we met. For example, our daughter was feeling unwell and we needed medication from a local pharmacy. One member of staff insisted on accompanying us to the pharmacy! I should also mention that the purpose of our stay in Lisbon was to celebrate my fiftieth birthday. Neither I nor my wife had mentioned this to anyone at the hotel. However, when we returned to our room on the day in question, we discovered a birthday cake waiting for me, together with a bottle of sparkling wine. The only way that the hotel could have known about my celebration was through taking a copy of my passport when we checked in. What class. Lisbon is a spectacular city and staying at the Corinthia certainly enhanced our experience of it. We can't wait to return to our new permanent base in the city.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roderick M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and confidence on Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

Your words make us feel very pride and we are very happy to learn that you had such a good experience with us. We understand your unexpected delight with the Executive Lounge since it has a lovely view over Lisbon and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service and breakfast there.

We also thank you for your kind words regarding the care of our team and please be assured it was our pleasure to provide a surprise on your birthday celebration and to help on the pharmacy.
We look forward to your return and to welcoming you back at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

Kind regards
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I love this hotel.
It is an hotel full of charm and appealing excellence.
Decoration, the kindness and efficient staff, lovely breakfast and the wonderful restaurant "Tipico". Everyone is welling to help. The view over the city is a beautiful way to start the day. This time we had a problem with our reservation, but it was quickly resolved and they upgraded the room for a suite. Spacious, clean, a good surprise! I advise you too stay at an executive room/ suite to access the Sky Lounge, there is a selection of Bio food at breakfast and the view is spectacular! You have magazines, books, journals, free wi-fi and private and silent place to work or enjoy your reading. During the afternoon you can have a drink or tea and have something to eat courtesy of the hotel. It is exquisite and cozy at the same time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roderick M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. Diana,

We thank you very much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon and we also thank you again for your review on our restaurant Tipico.

It is always very nice to learn that our guests were happy with the experience in the spirit of Corinthia.

We look forward to welcoming you back and do our utmost to provide a perfectly crafted experience to you.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very easy to get to from the airport, be careful of taxi fares we were charged 20 euros but when we asked in reception about the cost they said you should pay no more than 12 euros. The hotel is very pleasant and the rooms are well equipped. We booked a triple room but when we arrived in the room the room was only equipped for two. We had to ring down for extra tea cups, pillow, toiletries etc. The second annoyance was the mandatory use of swimming caps in the pool and the spa and for the pleasure of wearing one of these caps you have to pay 4 euros. We were not warned of this on booking. Go prepared with a swimming cap. The pool and spa areas are really lovely and relaxing. So highly recommend if you can bear wearing an uncomfortable cap. We ate in the restaurant and the food was wonderful. Highly recommend the desert buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roderick M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for having taken the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are always eager to make each guest stay into a crafted experience. We understand by analyzing your comments that we will need to improve to exceed your expectations and please be assured that we will share your comments to be follow up with necessary actions to improve.
Kindly note the use of caps in the pool in for hygiene reasons. We will follow up to assure this information is communicated by all distribution channels.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the dessert at our restaurant Tipico.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your future return to Lisbon.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a clean, modern and friendly hotel. Situated within a 2 minute walk to the Metro and train station, it is easy to access the whole of Lisbon from the hotel's location.

We stayed in a junior suite and the room was spacious and comfortable. Eating and drinking out on the terrace was very enjoyable. Food was good and well presented.

Breakfast was commendable with omelettes and eggs cooked to order if required. Awful weak coffee!

The presence of free WiFi throughout the hotel was great - I wish other hotels would follow this example.

I have only given this hotel 4 stars for 2 reasons.

Firstly "Tipico" restaurant was a huge disappointment. It runs a buffet that has a very limited choice at a very expensive price. Strangely for a buffet, there are 3 prices depending on if you have a desert etc. The food was nice but this restaurant is grossly overpriced and I suspect that is why there are only ever a few diners.

The air conditioning is ineffective and I suspect that the rooms would be very hot in the summer. We had 4 windows in our room, all of which could open but they will only allow 1 window to be opened at a time.

For a much cheaper bottle of water or wine - try the mini supermarket in the Metro station. At 24 euros a bottle, the wine in the hotel is very expensive for a wine producing country.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roderick M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your having taken the time to post a review on tripadvisor sharing your experience with other travelers.

We are always eager to make each guest stay enjoyable and memorable and please be assured that we will share your review with the management team to follow up with actions your concerns and improve for future experiences.

Please be assured that we will work on the areas you mentioned. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you in the future with our standards fully restored and in a perfectly crafted experience.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After arriving in Lisbon after a 10 day transatlantic cruise on the Brilliance of the Sea of the Royal Carribean line,which was a fantastic trip, both service wise, food wise, and weather wise, we taxied to the Corinthia where we were greeted by Domingos, the doorman, he was out "tour guide " for the next 3 days, The staff was superb, even allowing us to check in at 8am at no extra charge, the rooms were elegant, clean, the breakfast buffet was a great buy and can't say enough for the Corinthia or Lisbon- also, thru trip advisor, got a super deal on the room- thanks again, tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roderick M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your lovely review and your kind words on Mr. Domingos regarding your experience with Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are delighted to learn that you had such a good experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future to the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Easy to get to from Lisbon Airport by taxi this hotel is situated in the business district of Lisbon. Next to Seta Rios station (very handy for a day trip to Sintra) and close to Jardim Zoologico Metro station (to get into central Lisbon, OK but there are 5 minute gaps between metros and then a normally crowded metro journey into town)

Room was small but fine. It was clean and did the job but there was no "wow" factor - it didn't feel 5 star. The shower was fine in the mornings but in the evenings before going out it was a game of luck whether it would turn freezing cold or boiling hot whilst under it, not good enough.

We only drank in the bar the first night. Prices seemed high and having some badly sung karaoke blaring out from the function rooms above the bar area didn't make for a relaxing drink. From then on in we drank in town every other night.

The breakfast selection was good although the hot items were never hot.

During the week the hotel was busy with business functions and I can see how this hotel is perfect for business travellers, close to the airport, good function rooms, good Wi-Fi setup etc. I wouldn't come here again as a tourist though, it would have been much better to have booked a 3 or 4 star in central Lisbon for the same price and be in a much better location to sightsee and to be surrounded by nice restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roderick M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your opinion with other travelers regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are always eager to make each guest stay enjoyable and memorable and please be assured that we will do our utmost to provide you a perfectly crafted experience next time you stay with us. We believe the only truly smart way to improve is by listening to our guests and taking action on their concerns. We will share your comments with the management team in order to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back and show you the improvements driven.

Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Lisbon

Address: Av. Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro n. 105, Lisbon 1099-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#23 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the city historic center, just a 3 minute walk from “Jardim Zoológico” Metro station and Lisbon’s Zoo, Corinthia Hotel Lisbon features a 3000 square-meters SPA with an indoor dynamic pool (wellness center), a fully equipped gym, an outdoor covered and heated pool and 13 treatment rooms. The Executive Club Lounge, unique in Portugal, with a 360º overview of the city of Lisbon comprehending an area greater than 2000 square-meters.All of the rooms have been tastefully decorated and fitted with LCD HD TVs featuring fully entertainment systems with satellite channels, video games, radio and video-on-demand. Each room has a private bathroom with free luxury toiletries, mini-bar, tea and coffee facilities. Wi-Fi access is complementary. Family rooms available, with a capacity up to 5 people, and children until 12 years old stay for Free in Room Only basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Corinthia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.