We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BA wine bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto

BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto
R. Rosa, 107 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-382, Portugal
+351 21 346 1182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2,352 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $7 - $85
Cuisines: Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: More than 150 wines by the glass. Port wine flights. One of the best selections of portuguese cheeses, and charcuterie, combined in mixed boards. Handmade canned fish delights. Rare and old Port and Madeira wines collection, also by the glass. Please note: this is a small and informal traditional wine bar with tapas of cheese and charcuterie that does NOT have any cooked meals; opens around 6pm and starts closing at 11pm, therefore the options breakfast/brunch and late night do not apply; closes on Mondays. Thank you.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BA wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A very nice place, with good atmosphere and friendly staff. The food was decent but moreover the service was brilliant (all my questions regarding different kinds of portos were answered in details). Were coming there two days in a row. Best if you want to taste good wines and learn something new about them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    92
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not for all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I was a little disappointed after reading all the amazing reviews. I think you need to be knowledgable about wine and be happy for that to be the focus of the meal. The food was limited.. Cheese & meat platters and tinned fish which were all nice but nothing special. The staff were very friendly and welcoming but I did feel quite awkward at points as the restaurant is tiny and we were only ones in there.

If you know your wine and want your dining experience to focus purely on that then I would recommend it but if you're foody like me.. Give it a miss.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAwinebar, Owner at BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Ally,

We're sorry that your experience in BA was not as good as you expected. February is not the month for the place to be crowded...

As stated in our TripAdvisor's business description, BA is a traditional WINE BAR with tapas of cheese and charcuterie but WITHOUT COOKED MEALS.

The friendly and welcoming staff are here to help you choose the wines according to your personal taste, making the concept dynamic and fair, presenting a customized wine workshop for each table. Thus, this applies to those that do not know their wines, and you were given several to taste, before deciding the one to appreciate.

We believe that instead of reading "all" the amazing reviews, that are also quite clear, you should have read the ones like yours, e.g. one entitled "For serious wine buffs, not eaters", before deciding to visit us.

However, we think that your review is quite helpful for future visitors, in case they bother to read it. As for us, we don't understand how can it make us improve anything.

Thank you.

Yours truly,


Rui Rossa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We agree!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This visit was completely based on the reviews here at Tripadvisor. And we have to agree with all of you. Fabulous!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“There's a reason it's number one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

After a very soggy day in Belem, we headed to Bairro Alto to a restaurant that had been recommended to us, only to find it was closed! We had looked at BA Wine Bar on TripAdvisor and thought we'd head over and see if we could get a table, although we fully expected to be turned away as it had such amazing reviews. As luck would have it, there had been a cancellation, and what a stroke of luck it was! We are wine lovers, and Rui and his team were so amazingly knowledgeable and accommodating when it came to tasting and choosing the different wines. We were also starving so ordered a meat and cheese platter and a couple of fish dishes including octopus...Just delicious! We spent a full three hours there and whilst it wasn't cheap, for an experience like that it was well worth it. It would almost certainly cost double in London! By the end, we had completely forgotten about the miserable weather, and I have to say it was the highlight of our trip. Pay it a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A taste of Portugal- not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We made a reservation through TA for our first night in Lisbon- and I'm so glad we did! This tiny place(17 tables of 2) was packed, and many were turned away. One staff member told us that if you have a reservation the table is yours for as long as you want it. Literally, we tasted Portugal, region by region, wine and food specialties, and really enjoyed the knowledge that was shared with us. Over the course of several hours, we sampled 8-10 wines, many of the bottles being opened just for us! they really try to help you find wines you will most enjoy. We did! in addition, we ordered a small platter that included bread, olives and 2 kinds of olive oil, several hams and sausages and a delightful assortment of cheeses. It was a feast! Plan ahead and GO!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.