We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting in Bairro Alto?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto

BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto
Rua Rosa, 107 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-382, Portugal
+351 21 346 1182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2,622 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $112
Cuisines: Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: More than 150 wines by the glass. Port wine flights. One of the best selections of portuguese cheeses, and charcuterie, combined in mixed boards. Handmade canned fish delights. Rare and old Port and Madeira wines collection, also by the glass. Please note: this is a small and informal traditional wine bar with tapas of cheese and charcuterie that does NOT have any cooked meals; opens around 6pm and starts closing at 11pm, therefore the options breakfast/brunch and late night do not apply; closes on Mondays. Thank you.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wine tasting in Bairro Alto?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First of all, this new place in Bairro Alto, is not a restaurant.
If wine is your deal, this is the place to come. Well, just portuguese wine... but there's a lot to discover! Just tell them what kind of wines do you like and they will give you a few options so you can can taste and choose the one you really like. You can also get a selection of cheese, ham.... olive oil, even canned delicacies that would go perfectly with the wine.
They will guide you through a fabulous journey of portuguese wine.
Wine tasting in Bairro Alto? This is the place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    104
    27
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent one perfect night when we found this wine bar in Lisbon. It was an adventure for Portuguese wines. We had never been in a bar where everything was perfect! The food accompanied wines perfectly, all very well chosen and explained by the owner, Rui. Thanks for the perfect night we spent in Lisbon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent little tapas Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Really nice, small, crowded, hearty tapas, good wine and good service. Went twice. In good road for other bars and Fado.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the best bar to drink a glass of a good wine and to eat a good cheese!
It was the best experience I'm my live with wines! I really recommend this restaurant to the people who want to have a excellent experience ! Very nice and fancy !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Do not miss in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We came to this place based on the tripadvisor as well as our tour guide recommendation. We were planning on going to dinner and fado after. We ended up spending the entire evening there. The owner spend a significant amount of time with us and two other couples. He was asking our wine preferences to determine which Portuguese wines we would prefer. His guesses were spot on. We enjoyed some red, white and even sparkling wines. We ended the evening with a flight of ports.
If you can carve out the evening, go to this place. You will fall in love with Portuguese wines and BA wine bar.
I would recommend making reservations. They have a selection of breads, cheeses and canned food, all delicious but no hot food. You can buy a glass or bottle. They also take credit cards.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.