We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto

BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto
R. Rosa, 107 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-382, Portugal
+351 213 461 182
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 2,094 restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $7 - $85
Cuisines: Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: More than 150 wines by the glass. Port wine flights. One of the best selections of portuguese cheeses, and charcuterie, combined in mixed boards. Handmade canned fish delights. Rare and old Port and Madeira wines collection, also by the glass. Please note: this is a small and informal traditional wine bar with tapas of cheese and charcuterie that does NOT have any cooked meals; opens around 6pm and starts closing at 11pm, therefore the options breakfast/brunch and late night do not apply; closes on Mondays. Thank you.
New York City, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had such a great time at BA Wine Bar, it is highly recommended. Excellent wine, excellent food. The owner and staff are very knowledgeable about all wines and the history of Portugal. We had such a wonderful experience, we went back a second time before we left.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    333
    58
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great winebar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went here in september '12, and absolutely loved it. Fantastic owner that offers amazing service, and let you try some different wines before you choose who you like the most. We also did a meat and cheese plate, and he let us try the wine with the food before we decided on the best match.

Also amazing on ports, and gave a great insight in Different port styles with his great knowledge.

must visit for all winelovers in Lisbon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“very professional service of great food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

lovely time spent there, a relaxing atmosphere and overall a fantastic experience.
don't travel with Lufthansa, there are better ways to fly

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Perfect day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent the day in Sintra and stumbled onto a perfect little restaurant. We ended up eating too much
and spending too much time in Sintra. We had reservation @ wine bar but arrived late just to apologize and drink a glass of wine and go home to bed. We all felt to stuffed to eat or drink.
Well, two hours later we were having so much fun and loving the whole experience. Somehow we found a way to stuff in more food and drink and still love every moment.
One person in our group is quite the connoisier of wine and even he learned some things.
We found a perfect tinto, perfect blanco and perfect port! Heck we even found the perfect olive and perfect oil. All this for about $20 per couple! Can't beat it...go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Weekend in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very small restaurant with maybe 6 tables. Rui is very knowledgeable and take hu=is time to explain everything about wines. I arrived early and everything was reserved and yet he still accomodated me. Be prepared to be patient. He does everything with some help from his partner. So you might need to wait while he serves others. everything was great and will come back whenever i travel in Lisbon. Perfect English is spoken here. i do recommend that Rui hires some help to get him going with the serving and the food part while he can solely focus on his wines.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.