We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the easiest way to fall in love with the city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisbon Free Tours . Chill-out Tours

Lisbon Free Tours . Chill-out Tours
Praca Luis de Camoes, Lisbon 1500-077, Portugal
+351 916 060 768
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 330 Activities in Lisbon
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ***BEST WAY TO EXPLORE LOCAL LISBON - THE LISBON ORIGINAL FREE WALKING TOURS WE ARE NOT OFFICIAL GUIDES,We are just a group of local friends who love to show you around and,tell you about the local funny stories,legends and myths,show the genuine culture.We also talk about our history and culture,but keep your mind open to listen the nonofficial stories, and we don't take you to the main touristic attractions.To keep it genuine and pure,we work on a tips-only bases,earning no commissions or any other support,working solely for what our travelers think we are worth.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
“the easiest way to fall in love with the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It´s a great idea of free walking tours. Very humanly, very free, very enteresting and professional at the same time. A big thank to Miguel for the beautiful day in Lisbon and to all enthusiasts who gives such joy to people!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    76
    9
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“very good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I went on the free walking tour on a day where it happened to have almost 20 attendees, which apparently is unusual (most tours have 6 or so people). The guide did a good job managing the group. His commentary could be a bit more interesting, but I'm glad I went. The only thing is, the tour ends in a spot that is a bit confusing to find one's way home from.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exellent tour from insider”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was a happy coincidence that I actually met Miguel that day, because I wanted to go on the tour a day before but didn't know where it starts. Miguel just came to me and asked if I'd like to go.
Our group was quite small, so it was almost like an individual excursion. Miguel is very intelligent and interesting person, he loves his city and culture and is able to transfer this love to other people. He told us a lot about Portuguese history, culture, language, literature and every day life, all this with personal comments and a lot of jokes. Miguel can interact with the audience very well and makes his tour like a walk with a local friend, showing us not only touristic places, but also some secret sport. This tour was very helpful on my trip through Portugal. Thank you, Miguel!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb, see sides of Lisbon you won't discover yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a great way to get a feel for this incredible city in a shortspace of time. Loved the casual way it comes together, from the start, to the end. Jose showed us places both famed and personal to him, tourisitic and everyday fascinations, and all novel and fun. Hangouts and lookouts with locals playing guitar and sipping on a brew, stories of the earthquake, beautiful architecture....

Looking forward to the next chance.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Chill-Out, General Manager at Lisbon Free Tours . Chill-out Tours, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your support and feedback your opinion is definitely important to us.

Sorry taking so long to reply, we had so many reviews, it's hard to reply all in time

Great way to motivate us to keep running these tours, especially now with this big international company starting at the same place and time as we...

Share you photos if you have some post them here (tripadvisor) or/and on facebook José Would be really happy to see it

Hope we keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic walking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great tour. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to learn about Lisbon from someone who has experienced it first hand.
Rita, our guide, was incredibly knowledgeable and very personable. Saw great places most tourists probably wouldn't see, as well as the "must visits". Learned about the history, culture, and people of this interesting city. The tour was casual, interactive, very informative and a lot of fun.
A great way to spend a few hours in a beautiful, historic city.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Free Tours . Chill-out Tours also viewed

 

Been to Lisbon Free Tours . Chill-out Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisbon Free Tours . Chill-out Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.