We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the wait!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cervejaria Ramiro

Cervejaria Ramiro
Avenida Almirante Reis 1, Intendente, 1100 | 1150-007, Lisbon, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 2,259 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent food and decent service- definitely worth the wait. The restaurant, however, is not a place for slow dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,092
    493
    106
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Have to try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went there in a weekday noon so not so many people there. I suggest you should go there before 12.30 if you don't want to wait.

Not all the staff can speak good English but at least we can communicate. And they use Tab to show the menu so it is very straightforward to see what you want in many different languages.

The dishes, without doubt, are all very delicious. We tried many things as you can see from my picture.

The price is a little bit expensive but I think it worthy to save your budget for it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect seafood!!! Great price regarding the quality of the food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Without any doupt i would reccomnend it just for the food!! Great fresh seafood! Noisy but we were lucky as our reservation was upstairs! Make a reservation first! You do not want to wait so much tine as others wven uf it worths it!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Prior to Anthony Bourdain's visit friends of mine spoke of this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is down to business, back to basics seafood cuisine. Clean kitchen and fast service. You do not go here for an opulent dish presentation and fancy new style creations.. It is bulk on the run seafood goodness and one must get down and dirty cracking the shells wide open. Go here with friends if you enjoy beer and seafood. Great alternative if you appreciate seafood but do not want to pay 40% more for "service". Sometimes, you just want it raw :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We first came on a Monday night and was sad to find that it's closed on Mondays. Determined, we came back again 2 nights later and dutifully waited on line despite the fact that it was raining outside. Inside, the place was bustling. We waited for about 30-40 min, which wasn't too bad since the host handed us glasses of beer as we were waiting.

Overall, the food was pretty good. The oysters, shrimp, king prawn and clam we ordered all tasted very fresh. They are simply prepared to show off the flavors of the actual seafood. My favorite was probably the peel and eat shrimp. They were just cooked, juicy and plump and tasted perfect. The beer complimented all the food nicely. The bread they give you is great for dipping into the sauce to soak up all the deliciousness.

One star taken off for the shrimp scampi, which was super salty. I mean, it was to the point where it was bitter. I am guessing it must have been an oversight (of double salting) on just our order since lots of other tables ordered and seem to have enjoyed it. Despite this, it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cervejaria Ramiro also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Cervejaria Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cervejaria Ramiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.