We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel and service, in a historic Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Solar Do Castelo to your Saves list
Solar Do Castelo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Tickets Tram 28
Ranked #11 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Williamsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel and service, in a historic Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

love it. A beautiful hotel with exellent service. Nice location, breakfast, tea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    69
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
226
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We loved this place! The location is gorgeous, right inside the walls of Castle St. Jorge. The open courtyard makes for a wonderful place for breakfast, with the beautiful scenery and the resident peacocks. The breakfast buffet was fantastic: all sorts of fresh pastries, eggs, meats, an amazing fresh fruit salad, etc. The rooms are good sized, comfy beds, all you could ask for.

One thing to keep in mind: this is located at the top of a very long hill, up steep cobbled streets. The 737 bus goes almost all the way from the main square to the castle, but it stops running at 9 pm. The 28 tram goes part of the way up, but it stops by 11 pm. So you may want to consider a taxi if you're not up for the big walk.

The staff is very helpful - they were able to sell us the hop on/hop off ticket (cash only) without having to trek down to the square. And this ticket gets you on the public buses and trams as well (the HO HO stops relatively early in Lisbon; some of the lines stop around 6 pm). They called a cab for us for an early departure to the airport, and even printed out our boarding passes. The free wifi worked great, and they even have a selection of books in various languages.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room, but the rooms with a balcony right over the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Gorgeous boutique hotel inside the walls of St Georges castle. This wonderful place is a heritage hotel that is just beautiful & welcoming. Interior is a mix of the original structure & beautiful modern renovations. Rooms are welcoming, warm & beautiful. A great place to call home for our stay. Planned for 1 night, stayed for 3.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights with our toddler and had a great time, the walk up the steep cobbled streets was at first daunting but there is bus 737 that takes you within 5 minutes of the hotel.
The breakfast buffet has lots of variety and is refreshed constantly by the attentive staff, who also occupied out daughter when she was being less than cooperative.
On arrival to Lisbon we took the airport bus then a taxi from the Baxia (town centre) but it would have cost the same to have taken a taxi as the return journey only cost 10 euro including extra baggage.
The room was a little cramped as we had a cot in there as well but not a problem as we spent all day out sight-seeing and they stored our buggy/pram/stroller near reception. Day trips on the train to Sintra and Cascais were great.

I would recommend saying here without reservation, if you do then you will enjoy your trip, and that is not simply down to returning home with a £100 worth of free Molten Brown toiletries!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which you can see in the pictures, it faced onto the road/alleyway of the approa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I had the immense good fortune to stay at this bijou of a hotel during a four-day business trip to Lisbon last fall. From the minute I pushed open its immense front door, I knew I had found precisely what I was looking for: charm, quiet, and a sense of place and history. Solar do Castelo offers all of this to those lucky enough to stay here. Nestled as it is within the walls of the Castelo Sao Jorge, the hotel is perched high above the city. Reviews which mention the steep climb are right--but this shouldn't deter anyone enterprising enough to take advantage of the city's excellent transportation system or its plentiful, reasonably priced taxis.

Designed by one of Portugal's most celebrated interior designers--Graça Viturbo--the hotel is billed as offering a look in "Modern Medieval"...whatever! To a layman like me, that means a soothing interior of gilt, bronze and burgundy. It also means that within the first minute of my arrival, I had already asked if I could buy the carved wooden bowl next to the reception desk--a first-ever for me. (Alas, the answer was "no"!).

Be careful if you decide to walk back up to the hotel--not all roads lead up into the castle and the hotel. I learned this the hard way--in a slashing rain, no less. Still, the experience was most positive--and affords me another way to praise the hotel--because I called the front desk desperate for directions. The gentleman on duty patiently guided me down the hill, directing me up to the (only) street that could get me back to the hotel. Had he not been the only person on duty at that time, I'm sure he would have personally come to rescue me.

Thank you, Solar do Castelo, for making my first visit to Lisbon so delightfully memorable.

Room Tip: Room 16 overlooks the blue-tiled courtyard with its picturesque water fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We began our stay in Portugal here at the Solar do Castelo. It was such a find, right next to the castle. The breakfast room was very inviting with overstuffed furniture. Our room was a good size, and the bathroom was really large. Loved the peacocks that strolled around the patio. It was very quiet. They recommended a great little restaurant just around the corner- seats only three. Had the best food there! We would highly recommend this spot to anyone who wants a quiet stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We originally booked in to a sister hotel but were transferred to Solar do Castelo at no extra cost and were more than happy with the new location. Solar do Castelo is a boutique hotel located next to the Castelo Sao Jorge but easily accessible by tram and bus for anyone wishing to avoid the quite steep climb up. Our room was spacious and charmingly furnished, the bathroom was modern but with a traditional Portuguese feel and the common areas were comfortable and stylish. Peacocks from the castle were often in the hotel courtyard (where you can have breakfast and tea), adding extra atmosphere. Breakfasts were very good and there is an honesty bar for drinks at any time of day. Service in the hotel was at all times excellent, with staff happy to make reservations an give advice on restaurants and things to visit. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a Romantic Boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only hotel within St. George's Castle walls, at the top of Alfama, Solar Do Castelo is a small Mansion built on the site of the former Alcaçova Palace. With two floors and a mansard, an inner courtyard and garden, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a Medieval Contemporary style. You will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar Do Castelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.