We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Liberdade 138, Lisbon 1250-147, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #113 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Oxford, Ohio
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good hotel with potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Fontecruz Lisboa is working to establish itself as a trendy, sleek, and avant-garde destination and has the intimate feel of a boutique hotel. As other reviews indicate, the décor may not appeal to everyone, since the predominance of black and grey does make the rooms and hallways rather dark. Not really our style, and not conducive to working if that is your purpose, but we knew what to expect and came to enjoy the different atmosphere during a two-day stay. Our room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom with a walk-in shower was wonderful. Better still was the fact the room had, not a balcony but a terrace the size of the room itself with a wonderful view. Only complaint was that the room had not been made up when we returned after 5 the second day. Others experienced the same problem, leaving us with the impression that the hotel was still finding its legs. The front desk, however, was very responsive and the situation quickly remedied. As part of the Marriott chain, easy booking, generous cancelation policy, and loyalty rewards are a plus. So too is the hotel’s location, with most tourist sites within walking distance, and for those that are not, there ready access to public transportation. Unlike the other AC Hotels we have stayed in, the Fontecruz caters more to foreign tourists. But even thought this is not the place to soak up the local culture, it does provide a pleasant oasis for relaxing after exploring Lisbon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard rather than the street, better yet request 407 or 408 which have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    82
    44
    23
    7
See reviews for
32
118
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Fontecruz Lisboa was excellent in every way. Easy to get to by subway, Areobus or taxi. I have seen taxi-fares quoted on TripAdvisor rangeing from 10 to 20 euros, but ours from hotel to airport was 10 euros with a small tip. I would agree with pretty much everything positive said by others. The hotel is modern and we had a superior room facing the Avda. Liberdade (?) which is one of the main streets in the city, but the room was perfectly quiet. The main streets are as wide as a football field! Really - about 100 yards or meters. The food and beverage service was great, especially breakfast. I did not see any of the back rooms, which are white, but like others say, rooms in the front are black and are fine after about 5 minutes.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be quiet, since like I said above, our room opened onto the main Avenue and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although the interior is rather dark, it has a modern feel to it. The room was large enough. I loved the bathroom. Modern, but also dark. There was no bath, but since I just stayed there for one night this was not a problem. The walk-in rain shower was very pleasant. The view on the street was also very nice.
Breakfast was tasty. A large buffet was available with a lot of choice.
Overall I had a very nice stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location which is fabulous. The decor however is very avant garde. We stayed on the 5th floor where the walls are all painted black. Our room was also very dark, which takes a bit getting use to. Aside from the decorating, little things such as tissues were missing from our room. This may seem trite, but not when one of you has a cold! We also noticed a foul odor in the hallway which never went away. It was always there, morning through late at night.
The hotel restaurant was fair. We ate 2-3 meals there and finally decided to walk across the street to the Sofitel Hotel when the food was 10x better and had a more interesting bar. Next time in Lisbon, we'll stay at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Luv it, luv it - perfect location, near luxury shops & very good restaurants. The Fontecruz Lisboa is a beautiful design hotel with good rooms & amazing staff. This visit was all business, but can't wait to visit again and enjoy the sights of Lisbon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

All in all, the hotel is "good" to "very good," in all categories.
Which means it wasn't "excellent" in any.

Room - on a smaller side, even with an upgrade. I understand standard rooms are even smaller.
Not tiny, especially by European standards, but deluxe rooms in 5-stars are typically bigger and better appointed.

Breakfast - OK, not too much variety. Again, no one went hungry...but I'd expect more.

Front desk staff very helpful, but very overworked.

But the value was good. I think we paid around $150/nt - plus the Marriott Gold upgrades, so we definitely got our money's worth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This trip was the first time for using Marriott Autograph Collection (here and Santiago de Compostella, Spain) so weren't quite sure what to expect. We arrived a bit early and told room was not ready, but that we had been assigned "an interesting room". It was indeed - the room was pretty much all white with a separate sitting area from the bedroom, so it was quite spacious. All seemed quite new - bathroom well appointed with fancy toiletries. The hotel is very contemporary and trendy, located right on Liberdade within walking distance of many sights, Alfama, Baixa, riverfront, etc. Our room was located in the back building, away from Liberdade - there is a lovely cocktail/dining courtyard between the main front building and the back one - very pleasant for a relaxing drink.

All in all, it's a hard hotel to adequately describe as it is an unusual design, but we did enjoy the stay. A full buffet breakfast was provided. Front desk staff was quite helpful in directions and advice. Plus they made arrangements for cab back to airport at 15 euros and included that on our room bill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection

Address: Avda. Liberdade 138, Lisbon 1250-147, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new boutique hotel recently opened in the very city center of Lisbon with a primer location on the Liberdade Av. It offers 72 luxurious rooms and suites decorated in a fashion and chic style. Its open lounge terrace offers panoramic views on the city center and chill out atmosphere. The hotel restaurant prides on its modern, light and fresh cuisine, and its Gin Tonics carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontecruz Lisboa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.