We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZUZA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ZUZA Guest House
Rua do Duque, 41 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-151, Portugal (Baixa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 134 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Willemstad, Netherlands Antilles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great location, but even better: the best service ever. From the moment you arrive, the Zuza team makes sure you enjoy their beloved city of Lisbon: reservations at the best restaurants, tips for walking tours through different parts of the city every day etc. And the breakfast is amazing and seems to last forever. Bread, cakes, yoghurt, eggs, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea, all served with a smile. We booked the entire Zuza guesthouse with a group of friends and felt really at home there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
46
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a great choice if you're looking for somewhere at a reasonable cost near the centre of Lisboa. It's an old house on a pedestrian street in Chiado/Bairrio Alto, and is close to Rossio train station and metro. This review is about the guest house - they also have apartments nearby which are reviewed separately.

The staff are very friendly and are keen to explain where to go and what to do and how the transport system works (buy a viva viagem card and top it up like an Oyster card). When we arrived we got given an itinerary of what to do on our first evening, including going to a new bar that was a fantastic surprise (I won't give away the secret in case you want a surprise too). We only saw Luis the owner later during our stay and he was charming.

Our room was a small double on the second floor with a small window facing the street. It was a bit noisy from the restaurants on the street, but it quietened down about 12am, and it was fine. The room was very clean, the bed thin as is the Portuguese style, it was hot but there was only a fan but that's o.k. Outside the room was a communal living room with tv and dvds, although we didn't use it as we didn't want to make any noise to disturb the other rooms. There is a bathroom shared between 3 rooms, which was ok if a bit like a hostel bathroom. You are provided with bathrobes and slippers to wear to the bathroom, which was a nice touch.

Breakfast is served 8.30-10.30 in a tiled room - choice of ham, cheese, yoghurt, melon, bread, jam, 2 types of cereal and cake. They kept running out of normal tea (perhaps not used to British visitors?). You can also have eggs done in the way you want.

Overall, a good bnb as a base for exploring the city.

Room Tip: the room next to the communal bathroom might be a bit noisy because of the door to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZUZABED, Owner at ZUZA Guest House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good evening dear CTwydale,

My name is Luis and I thank you for the time on sharing you Zuza experience with the world and we all at Zuza Team are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay here with us at ZUZA GUEST HOUSE. It was a pleasure to have you here and I'm happy that I had a chance to meet you both.

For the future travellers we will have the pleasure to host in the future I just want to clarify that there are 3 bathrooms shared between all the Guest House room as all the Guests may use all the bathrooms available in the house.
Regarding our SUPER Breakfast (using other Guests words) considering the night rate of 29,50€ per Person on double room (1 night stay - the rate goes down depending on the lenght of your stay), on the extensive breakfast selection that always surprise our beloved Guests we serve also 2 types of jams and the fruit changes depending on what's fresh in the market/season. As for the tea... allow me to justify that the "normal tea" we always have available and in Portuguese it's called "Chá Preto".

I also would like to add the info (also for future travellers) that Lisbon has been experiencing quite hight temperatures this summer (something that we can't control), altough all rooms are equipped with a fan. Anyway, airco is not announced on our website as we do not have airco in the COZY PRIVATE room type; only at the COZY SUITE room type.
Not for now once soon the system will be installed and all rooms at ZUZA GUEST HOUSE will have Airco.

All our best regards from Luis and rest of Zuza Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

if you book a room at the Zuzu Guesthouse. I stayed here for nearly a week. The service was excellent - warm and personalized. The staff gave me lots of spot on recommendations for restuarants, things to see and do, tours etc. The manager was very responsive and attentive to all of the guests. The breakfast was generous and the rooms comfortable and cozy. And the location is ideal - near to metro and train stations and within walking distance of shopping, nightlife, restaurants. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip. My stay is here is one of the many reaons I fell in love with Lisbon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Zuza Guesthouse. The location is perfect, close to everything but also in a quiet street. For those who don't want to walk, the Tram 28 and the Subway stations are really close too.
The staff was super friendly and helpful, ready to answer all the questions and to give as much advices as required.
The breakfast was excellent and generous : bread, cereals, cake, fruits, yogourt,cheese, eggs... After it you'll be ready to explore the city !
The room we had was small but functionnal- everything we needed to sleep and leave our stuff. Simply but tastefully decorated. The shared bathroom was also small but really clean.
A great place where we would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I booked this guesthouse because the friend I was travelling with had stayed in the Zuza apartments in Lisbon the previous year. Overall I think this guesthouse is one of the best places I have ever stayed, and it is excellent value for money.

The location could not be better, because it is right in the heart of the city, and in the Barrio Alto area by all of the great bars and restaurants. The staff here are great and make sure they get to know you personally and would do anything for you. The breakfast was also amazing, with everything from cereal to yoghurts to cakes to toast to cheese... there was too much! Our room was lovely and extremely clean. There was also a great little kitchen and lovely dining room.

Overall I would not think twice about booking this place again. Thanks Louis!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After a week in the Alentejo countryside, we arrived at Zuza for the last segment of our Portugal visit. The inn is on a nice winding, cobblestoned block in the heart of the old city. We stayed on the ground floor which is a railroad apartment. Our bed was very comfortable. Our 11 year old daughter slept on the pull-out couch. The apartment was well equipped with a small kitchen, a dining area and nice bathroom. Plenty of room to stretch out.
João and the staff were extremely helpful in every way. Each morning we would enjoy a delicious breakfast upstairs in the main inn and afterwards discuss our plans for the day. They offered great tips that gave us more than enough to do each day.
The only small drawback to staying in the ground floor apartment in the middle of Summer on a weekend, is the noise from the restaurant across the street. There will be lots of people in front of the apartment door late into the evening. Definitely not a deal breaker for staying in this great place, especially if you're out late anyway, but may be a consideration for a family with small kids.
Overall, highly recommended. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I booked this guesthouse based on Tripadvisor reviews and it was a good decision. All staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure I was having a good time. Breakfast was excellent with fruit, bread, eggs to your liking, coffee/tea, cheese and ham etc. all served at the table. The breakfast room was a good opportunity to meet other guests too. The only negative thing I have to say is that there was no AC only a dysfunctional fan in the room. It was difficult to sleep at night as there was a lot of noise from the restaurants next door and opening windows meant noise. The room is quite small but does the job. There is a common area with a tv etc so you wouldn't spent much time in your own room anyway. Wifi works well, and there is a small laptop for guests also. It has many restaurants in a walking distance and going out at night is easy. Overall, apart from the AC issue, the friendly staff and the breakfast are the reason I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Away from the street- the restaurants facing the guesthouse gets noisy till 1am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ZUZA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZUZA Guest House

Address: Rua do Duque, 41 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-151, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon > Baixa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Away From Home ideally located in the heart of Lisbon city-center. Perfect for your budget holidays with ZUZA quality hospitality. Let us introduce you our charming city we love so much. Welcome to ZUZA GUEST HOUSE. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZUZA Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added ZUZA Guest House to your Saves list