We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location and great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mundial to your Saves list
Hotel Mundial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location and great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Mundial is located within walking distance from all important places in city centre. Also tram line 12 and 28 stop just 100 m main door. Rooms are different in sizes, some have balconies (corner rooms that are more spacious). WLAN is available in rooms but ask reception for exact details as I had problems with payment online - that is not hotels fault ;-)
Breakfast was very good, lobby bar very nice but absolutely best pick was rooftop bar that was open in the evenings - fabulous view over Lisbon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    787
    315
    89
    48
See reviews for
310
676
65
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Mundial Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Lisbon with easy access to Figueira Square, Rossio, Castle of Sao Jorge, Santa Justa Elevator and Commerce Square (Praca de Comercio). But the best is the carris (train) No. 28 stop or a metro station just infront of the hotel. Riding tram 28 just for the experience is a must in Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The location of this hotel is great, with walking-distances to many of Lisbons central neighborhoods such as Baxia/Rossio, Chiado/Bairro Alto and old Alfama. Close to trainstation Rossio (trains to Sintra) and only two subway-stops from trainstation Cais du Sodre (trains to Belém and beach cities Cascais and Estoril).

Large, good breakfast. Clean sheets and room. We complained about the airconditioning dripping water one night, and they sent a technichian right away to fix it. Walls are thin (we could hear the next door guests quite good), but not too thin, still able to sleep with no problem.

Always a security-guard/police outside the hotel front door. Good value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Central location - big breakfast. Wifi only available for a fee - but other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I booked our stay at the Mundial based on some overall positive reviews, the location, and the price, but mostly the location. We like to walk a lot, and having a hotel that is very central to a lot of the sites is important. Hotel Mundial did not disappoint. We were especially pleased with its close proximity to St. George's Castle (Castelo Sao Jorge - entrance fee 7 Euros) - only about a 20-30 minute walk from our hotel. The Alfama district was close by, as was Rossio Square. As others have written, upon leaving the hotel, if you exit to your right rather than your left, it seems to be a bit more of a "shady" area. We did walk to our right to start the ascent to St. George's Castle, and we had no problems. We were warned by our doorman to be careful if we took the Tram 28 to the castle, since it is known to be a favorite spot for pickpockets. This was just another reason for us to decide to walk.

Our room was not fancy, but it was very clean and we had everything we needed. The shower was especially great - lots of hot water and good water pressure. I didn't find it to be noisy, but then again, I always wear earplugs when I am staying at hotels. We had a great view of the square in front of our hotel. The staff were very polite, friendly, and helpful (and this includes the lounge staff!). They were always ready to answer our questions, give us directions, and they were great at booking tours for us at the last minute (we did two tours - the 1/2 day Lisbon Classic and the full-day Fatima). We did encounter one grouchy desk man (older, balding), but fortunately this was at checkout and 99% of our experience was very positive. I thought breakfast was not too bad, especially considering it was included in the price of the room. Yes, the scrambled eggs were runny and rubbery, but there were lots of other things to choose from, including fruit, bacon, baked goods, juices, and excellent coffee. And although there is no internet, there is an internet cafe in the square down the block, with very reasonable rates. I will return to Lisbon someday and I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This place is a nightmare. Upon checking in my wife asked for some additional hangars for her clothes. Four days later on the day we were leaving they brought two of them to the room. The room was dirty. The shower didn't work. The tub was rusting with large pieces of it dropping on the floor. The bed was rock hard and the noise from the street below was anooying. Double pane windows would go a long way here as there is major construction next door.

The buffet was all but inedible. Runny eggs, canned pineapple and fruit salad, barely cooked bacon and a smelly cheese. We were supposed to have complimentary internet. We didn't. When confronted with our receipt that showed this, their answer was that it was our agent's fault and that it costs about 20 euros a day.

On the bright side the view from the terrace bar and the restaurant was terrific. Have a drink here, but be warned, don't even think about staying here. This hotel needed upgrading during Salazar's regime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Mundial is a quite large 4 star hotel (takes up a block), excellent situated in the center of town. It earns its 4 stars but not more than that.

WiFi costs extra (which should not be the case in this class of hotel, IMO) and if you need it both in the room and public areas, you'll have to pay twice.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Address: Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#77 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mundial 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundial Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Mundial Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mundial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.