We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly hostel :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salitre Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Salitre Hostel to your Saves list
Salitre Hostel
Rua do Salitre 134, Lisbon 1250-204, Portugal   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very friendly hostel :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in Salitre for 5 nights. The hostel's clean, comfortable and the location's perfect - very near to Rato station, the supermarket's just nearby. But definietely the best side of this place is the staff - they were all friendly and very helpful.
The kitchen's fully equipped so you find everything you need in there.

The only thing that I would actually improve is the ladies' bathroom & showers - I think the door to this facility should be closed (now there's "Please, do not close the door" request on it). Also, the breakfasts could vary a little bit.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a couple and you're planning to stay longer, you should consider sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel S, Public Relations Manager at Salitre Hostel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Karolina,

In fact you are not the first person to mention the WC door issue.

That sign exists so guests do not lock the door of the bathroom so other guests can use it too.

Now we have replaced the previous sign:

"Please do not CLOSE this door"

To:

"Please do not LOCK this door."

Done Deal !

Thank you very much for your feedback !

Always welcome !

Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
12
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My partner and I were looking for somewhere to stay in Lisbon and thought we'd give this a try based on the reviews. We stayed in a private double room with shared facilities - something that I havent done for many years and my partner has never done. We needn't have been concerned though - the place was spotless and the staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast was also included which though simple - fruit, bread, cereals, teas and coffees - was ample and good quality. There was also a fully equipped kitchen although we didnt take advantage of this. The best thing about this place was the location. In a quiet part of town, it was very well connected with the metro station and bus stops (several lines going all over the city) only 3 mins walk away. YOu could also walk to most sites in 30 mins or less, which was what we did. We also found the restaurant (cerzejeria) at the end of the road by the metro station very good value and very convenient if you arrive late and need to eat - as we did! I would definitely recommend this and would use it again if I go back to Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at Salitre. Not just because the place was clean and nice but the staff were really excellent and very helpful. They suggested great places to go and see and were very friendly. Thanks again Salitre. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is really such a great hostel. The staff couple is very nice and helping with everything (like giving advices how to get to places like Belém or Sintra etc). It is very clean and you have everything you might possibly need, internet access, kitchen, TV, even some books and magazines. Plus, the building itself is very nice, with high walls and stucco at the ceilings. Showers and facilities are very clean. Very close to metro station Rato (about 5 min walk) and ten minutes walk to Bairro Alto, but very quiet. As somebody mentioned here before it still seems to be an inside tip, since I guess not all the beds were taken when I was there. I would definitively go there again if I get back to Lisbon som day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Much better than most hostels, very close to a metro station. People working there were very nice and helpful. Definitely a great option to stay for a few days in Lisboa. Breakfast is included in the price, which we found really cheap for the services offered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in three different hostel in lisbon. This is the most comfortable and cleanest hostel in the city. The owner is very friendly and it is fun talking with him. The interesting sightseeing spots of lisbon are nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I initially booked just 2 nights here but extended my stay another 4 as Salitre Hostel is such a great place. Figo and Jenny are wonderful hosts and are very helpful and friendly. The hostel is ultra modern, exceptionally clean, new, and very peaceful. It's a 10 minute walk to where all of the action is which makes it quite nice as you don't hear any street noise in you room. It's not a party hostel and all of the guests are very respectful of one another. The kitchen, restrooms, and showers are constantly being cleaned by Figo and Jenny throughout the day. It is just a 3 min walk to Rato metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salitre Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salitre Hostel

Address: Rua do Salitre 134, Lisbon 1250-204, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salitre Hostel is a boutique hostel located in a beautiful 19th century building with luminous, clean and comfortable accommodations in double rooms, female and mixed dorms.The Salitre Hostel facilities include bathrooms for men and women with hairdryers, a full equipped kitchen where you can prepare your meal and where is served a free buffet breakfast every morning. A lovely living area with cable TV and nice sofas where you can chill out or interact with other guests.Beside all this you can have a drink or relax at the small but very pleasant outdoor area.Wi-Fi is free of charge and there are a couple of computers with internet access that you can use for free.We also provide free storage for your luggage, in case you need it. Our friendly staff will be glad to help you around with local tips and free maps, ensuring that you have a great stay in Lisbon.In other words, Salitre Hostel is the perfect place for you whether you are a backpacker looking for an awesome trip or a family seeking a more relaxed time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Salitre Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salitre Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.