We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding culinary tour of Portugal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belcanto

Belcanto
Largo de Sao Carlos, 10 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-410, Portugal
+351 21 342 0607
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2,360 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $73 - $165
Cuisines: Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Jose Avillez looks at haute cuisine as a form of expression. At the Belcanto he shares his inspirations, emotions and concerns through his culinary representations and illusions. Each dish tells a story and sets out to stir the emotions of those willing to try it."
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding culinary tour of Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Demonstrating a quality of sophistication and service, Belcanto aims to please and delivers even higher. Unforgettable meal with innovative amuse Bouche makes this a meal you'll remember for a lifetime. True culinary gem that would stand out in New York or Los Angeles r Paris.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    76
    22
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The best restaurant in Lisbon, for creativity, quality of ingredients, tastes, and service. Quite an experience, for very fair price. A place to go many times. Congratulations for Chef Avilez.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food excellent service 95 euro for a full menu. Quite easy to find. The only thing I can take one point away from is that every course came very quickly, so my advise is to eat slowly and enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to Belcanto after spending five days in Paris eating at the very best restaurants that city has to offer. And while the French delivered a few individual dishes that outperformed, the whole family felt Belcanto was the best meal we had on the trip.

The food is outstanding (more on that below). The staff is relaxed, funny and helpful -- there's none of the snobbery you often get in a Michelin-starred restaurant with an upwardly bound chef. The wines are well-chosen and inexpensive, and the sommelier provided some excellent pairings. The price is -- for what you're getting -- cheap.

We started with a trio of olives. The tastiest was done tempura style, and it was excellent (even my Japanese wife thought so). My favorite, however, was the "dry martini" -- essence of olive covering the bottom of a martini glass. The flavor literally explodes in your mouth.

Next came a chocolate and foie gras truffle that was simply superb. There were two other amuse bouche on the same serving tray, and I remember enjoying them at the time. But they've been edged out of my memory by that amazing truffle...

I then had what was probably the best piece of pork I've eaten in a very long and pork-filled life. Another reviewer said it wasn't as good as Chinese pork, but I lived in Hong Kong for five years and travel to the Mainland regularly, and trust me: this is better.

My wife had the "Jackson Pollock" fish: a lovely piece of skate with sauces dribbled over it in a very accurate reproduction of a Jackson Pollock painting (they even bring out a postcard-sized copy of the painting to prove the point). Normally that sort of thing annoys me; I'm there to eat, not to applaud someone's cleverness. But this managed to be an excellent fish dish that also had a sense of humor.

My daughter got the red shrimp three ways, each of which was excellent.

We will definitely go again. In fact, we will probably route any future trips to Portugal through Lisbon just so we can go again. It's not a cheap place, but for what you get it's a bargain. Kill whoever you have to to get a table; you'll thank me later.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Truly wonderful food...Even the sardine was extraordinary! It was, by far, our best dinner in Lisboa.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belcanto also viewed

 

Been to Belcanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belcanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.