We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Opera

Save Saved
You added Vila Gale Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vila Gale Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa do Conde da Ponte, Lisbon 1300-141, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 219 Hotels in Lisbon
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel, though a little out of the city, is a great location and close to Belem and only a short tram ride to the Praca do Commercio. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    139
    86
    39
    10
See reviews for
51
69
20
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is in-between the old town and Belem. Trams go in both direction and parking in the street is easy. The rooms are spacious and it has a good lobby for relaxing. Air conditioning in the room worked well. There is a bar and pool table. The quality of the breakfast is excellent (apart from the sweetened juices). It seems focused on having groups. But it has problems:
- the overhead bridge is noisy, if you like to have a window open then ask for a lower floor away from the bridge
- the gym / spa is small which is ok but they charge 8.50 euro for entry
- the handling of our group reservations was dreadful: emails to reservations were not replied, followed up by phone with confirmation of who was in what room + confirming email, but then checkin had no clue of the arrangements and the staff acted like it was my fault
- service staff numbers in the breakfast room was low and tables take a while to clear - we saw on our outside table the staff "cleaned it" by sweeping the crumbs etc onto the floor
- the wifi access is only free in the lobby. It has a complex 16 character code changing daily and does not sustain connection with cookies. So one is having to enter these codes every time after you close your advice. Speed was variable and averaged only around 2mbs.

Room Tip: Lower floor away from the bridge is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Close to the Tejo river and less than 10 minutes to the city centre (Chiado, Rossio and Augusta Street), this hotel represents a very good choice for a city break.
I used this hotel with my family for a city break in Lisbon using some cuppons offered by my Bank (SANTANDER). Our stay was perfect. The área is safe, calm and, if you rent a car, you have parking in the hotel (fee relatively cheap) or in the street, close to the hotel (we used this option). The rooms are large and very well furbished. There are LCD TV, radio, safe-block, telephone and all the things that you could need, such as a iron to improve you clothes. The WC is perfect. The hotel is like new with a lot of charm. Using a modern style, all seems perfect, revealing a lot of work used in details.
The breakfast is perfect but, dispite the breakfastroom be very large, you should need some time in quele before you take a table. The service is almost perfect. There is a large variety of dishes such as fruit, cakes, cereals, bread, jam, butter, cheeses, yogurts and so on.
The staff is very attentive and kind. You have comfortable lifts (elevators) from the bottom floor, avoiding any problems for disable people.
Sometimes you can find a opera show in the lobby, with high quality, peformed by two opera singers (a woman and a man). Ask in the reception when it can happens. It is unmissable and unforgettable.
I can't try the restaurante of the hotel (due to incompatibility of time), but the offer presented in the lift seems to be a great deal, with nice value for money.
We will be back to this hotel soon. I really love it and the service.

Room Tip: Please sellect room in the higher floors in order to achive a better view. Rooms south-oriented hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A large modern hotel, quiet and clean. Enormous Reception area. Fantastic choice at breakfast - I wished I was hungrier! There were apples and bottled water in the room. Our room was well equipped and clean of average size but nothing in the way of a view.

Room Tip: A good stopover hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Reading the earlier reviews, I was lucky to get a room on lower floor, with view for actually nothing, but very silent. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The breakfast is very good with big choice of fresh fruits. The air condition could work better.
The location for the people who want also to explore a little bit the city is very good. Very close to the Belem district, easy accessible by famous Lisbon trams.
I can not complain about the staff also, they were very friendly. I left something in my room, and as I returned after few days in Porto, to the hotel, they have delivered it to my room very quickly.
As in title, Vila Gale has met my expectations, this is average 4* hotel, however if they will work on some faults, they can become a very solid one. I have found also very good price for this hotel, so value for money was excellent for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Opera singers perform every friday and saturday evening! The rooms are fantastic. Real nice classy hotel in a very interesting area of Lisbon. It appears at first to be in a crappy part of town but there is lots to discover. Lots of good restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

An excellent positioned hotel near the conference centre and easy access by near by tram to city centre. Rooms were good though in places a bit tired. I visited in June and would worry about the air conditioners ability in really hot weather. Gym was good but disappointing hours - who opens a gym at 7am! Bar was good and breakfast very good. Evening meal is a bit tired however walk down to the pedestrian cross over near the convention center and discover a wide range of excellent restaurants, bars and night clubs just across the road in the old coverted warehouses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Opera

Address: Travessa do Conde da Ponte, Lisbon 1300-141, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#85 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Opera 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming city hotel is situated directly in Lisbon's tourist centre. The hotel is set directly over the Tagus River and the lifely Docas area. The centre of Lisbon, Rossio, is roughly 5 km away and the congress centre is 100 meters away. Public transport departs from stops just 200 m from the hotel. The surrounding area is filled with bars, pubs, restaurants and nightclubs. The main tourism attractions are only 500 meters away in Belem. The airport is approximately 12 km away. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 9 floors with a total of 259 rooms, of which 19 are superior rooms and 16 junior suites. The facilities include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, a safe, free Wi-Fi internet connection in public areas, lifts, a luggage room, a currency exchange desk, conference rooms. In the public areas guest will find an inviting meal area and restaurant and a magnificent bar. Restaurant with highchairs for infants. For an additional fee you may use our laundry services, garage or Health Club. The bright and modern en suite rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel offers guests a Health Club (for an additional cost) with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, a Turkish bath and gym. The hotel also has a Spa that offers massage and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course is just 15 km away. Ask for more information about sports and other activities. Guests may choose their breakfast, lunch or dinner meals from a wide buffets. At lunch and dinner guests may also select dishes from the set menu, or take the a la carte option. In addition, the hotel caters for guests with special dietary requirements or take away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Vila Gale Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Opera Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.