We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Opera

Save Saved
You added Vila Gale Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vila Gale Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa Do Conde Da Ponte, Lisbon 1300-141, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A large modern hotel, quiet and clean. Enormous Reception area. Fantastic choice at breakfast - I wished I was hungrier! There were apples and bottled water in the room. Our room was well equipped and clean of average size but nothing in the way of a view.

Room Tip: A good stopover hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    132
    90
    42
    11
See reviews for
38
62
19
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Reading the earlier reviews, I was lucky to get a room on lower floor, with view for actually nothing, but very silent. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The breakfast is very good with big choice of fresh fruits. The air condition could work better.
The location for the people who want also to explore a little bit the city is very good. Very close to the Belem district, easy accessible by famous Lisbon trams.
I can not complain about the staff also, they were very friendly. I left something in my room, and as I returned after few days in Porto, to the hotel, they have delivered it to my room very quickly.
As in title, Vila Gale has met my expectations, this is average 4* hotel, however if they will work on some faults, they can become a very solid one. I have found also very good price for this hotel, so value for money was excellent for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Opera singers perform every friday and saturday evening! The rooms are fantastic. Real nice classy hotel in a very interesting area of Lisbon. It appears at first to be in a crappy part of town but there is lots to discover. Lots of good restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

An excellent positioned hotel near the conference centre and easy access by near by tram to city centre. Rooms were good though in places a bit tired. I visited in June and would worry about the air conditioners ability in really hot weather. Gym was good but disappointing hours - who opens a gym at 7am! Bar was good and breakfast very good. Evening meal is a bit tired however walk down to the pedestrian cross over near the convention center and discover a wide range of excellent restaurants, bars and night clubs just across the road in the old coverted warehouses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at a Junior suite, a very good and spacious room (2 adults and 3 children), with a very nice view of the river and of the Tagus bridge.
The hotel is nice, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good.
I think that the restaurant is too expensive, but there are many restaurants in the vicinities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed there in May '13 for a conference 5 min down the road. The location for tourists is pretty good as it's right near Bellem, which is a wonderful area.

However, the staff is very unfriendly, and speak little English. The major bridge that's next to the Hotel, makes it unable to open windows at night or day. If you get a room towards the bridge, good luck. It's relatively clean but it needs fixing.

Internet needs to be paid for, the same as for the in-room safe lock!!!

The breakfast was actually pretty good (as was most of the food in Lisbon), while the bar service was quite sad. Since we were there for a conference, most of us gathered at the bar in the evening, and the hotel only ordered 1 waiter/bar-tender to help/serve 30 people. Poor guy.

Clients, my boss, and eventually later, myself, stayed at other hotels, which were much better for similar price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a rugby trip. Hotel is very nice, pretty much what you would expect, staff friendly and it was convenient enough for us. I did notice there is not much withing easy walking distance which would have been a drag at other times and the bridge is noisy if you have the window open, but fine if you don't. Bar was quite busy although service a bit slow. They had opera singers in the bar one night which drew quite a crowd. Great if you like that sort of thing. Breakfast was good, no faults there at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vila Gale Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Opera

Address: Travessa Do Conde Da Ponte, Lisbon 1300-141, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Opera 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Vila Gale Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Opera Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.