We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location with reasonable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anjo Azul (Blue Angel)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Anjo Azul (Blue Angel)
Save
You added Hotel Anjo Azul (Blue Angel) to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Luz Soriano 75, Lisbon, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good location with reasonable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

the hotel offers good value for money, is centrally located and everything in the room worked worked as expected. they were nice enough to give me a room upgrade. wifi was available in each room which is not mentioned on their website.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
20
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed on two different weekends at the Anjo Azul in October 2010. I wanted to write a review because it is an unusual place. I totally and completely recommend it to most travelers. The only travelers that might not find it a good choice would be those with children, or those with older travelers that would need assistance or elevators, etc. It advertises as a gay hotel, but that is not an issue at all. There are some gay guests, but it is hardly a cruise hotel or anything close to it, and the clientele is quite mixed. The location is absolutely perfect in the Bairro Alto, the center of a great nightlife scene and many excellent restaurants and shops. It's an ideal location from which to walk and explore the city. If you have a rental car this would probably not be the place to stay unless you know the neighborhood and are comfortable driving and parking in medieval streets. The rooms are small, but I found them very comfortable, clean, and well maintained. They of course are not 5-star hotel rooms. The staff is friendly, but there is usually only one person at the desk and their knowledge of other languages and of Portugal in general varies from person to person. The hotel does not accept credit cards and all transactions are cash. There is free wifi access, but sometimes the signal is a little weak. Also cell coverage can be spotty in the hotel and the neighborhood. For budget travelers this is a great choice. For others that can forgo a few amenities, it is also a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The rooms: clean and basic, 12-14sqm. Half of the rooms face backyards/quiet but you should be on floor 3 or 4, otherwise you don’t get much daylight into your room as the opposite building is close (that’s why on the website’s pictures these rooms have closed curtains). So floor 1 and 2 are rather depressing backyards.
The street-facing rooms have lots of noise, esp. at night! I recommend you to take earplugs with you (or alternatively go out until mornings).

The location: As others said, that’s the place to be. Convenient.

The price: That’s were its getting more complicated. Rooms are 65/75EUR in high season. For other European cities that would be cheap, for Lisbon its not. Is it a rip-off? No. But not such an “amazing”/“great” deal as others say either. In the same area you get wonderful short-term-apartments with at least 4times the size for the same price as the hotel sleeping 3 or 4 people - again: FOR THE SAME PRICE. And: there is no breakfast at the hotel anyway.
One more on the price: I got a 10% discount by paying CASH – but you have to ask for it, they wont give it without asking! I assume that’s the Portuguese way (no receipts). I also heard from another guest that if you mention “Spartacus” you can get a 10% discount too. I wonder if you can combine both discounts? Again, 10% discount was in high season. I guess off-season cld be more!?

The service: As I said rooms are clean, you get fresh towels every day. Bed/Blankets were clean. No complaints.
HOWEVER… here it comes: Reception staff was either very friendly or totally ignorant (both extremes), depending on the person…
Also, reception is NOT well informed, example: Going to the beach (“Beach 18”): I expect them to know how to get there, more than their “take the bus” – “which line?” – “just ask at the bus station”.
Basically there are 3 ways getting to the beach:
A) take a taxi from hotel for approx. EUR35 (with meter, one way, 40mins at least) –HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
B) Subway/Bus/ToyTrain at the Beach:
I took that option once - nightmare. However the receptionist did not tell me/did not know that the ToyTrain only runs June/July/August. So you are getting off the bus in the middle of nowhere and discover "oh, they didnt tell me at the reception the train only runs in these 3months?"... Nice, no taxis anywhere… Good luck! The whole trip to the beach took me unbelievable 2.5hrs and lots of asking around!
C) Ferry/Bus:
I found out that’s a much better way getting there. Ferry (EUR1.30 one way) and then bus Number 127 (EUR3.55 one way) to final stop and walk 10mins on the beach from Toytrain Stop 19 to Stop 18. Do not take bus 130 as this brings you to toytrain stop 1 (and if there is no toytrain you are stuck in the middle of nowhere!).

Back from beach to hotel: You will not be able to get a taxi – they don’t go out there to pick someone up – I tried it but it seems to far away for them. Buses run every 30-45minutes. Again, take bus 127 from Stop 19, then the ferry. Should take you 60-75mins in total, no included waiting time for the bus.
(This is the type of info a reception should know and not every guest has to painfully find out themselves.)

Internet/Wireless signal is only available in the lobby. You can use their terminal for EUR1 for 30mins.

Security Problem 1: Imagine you come home and there is a NEW guy at the reception. You tell him “room XYZ” and you get the key. No further questions asked. Wanna try and see other rooms…?
Security Problem 2: There is a room safe, which costs extra per day of usage. But it only fits a small wallet. So what are you doing with your laptop? Again, remember basically everyone has access to your room by only saying a room number…

Have fun in Lisbon, it’s a great town and most Portuguese are friendly/welcoming by nature... ;))

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

A nice and cosy place to stay in Lisbon. Walking distance to bars and restaurant and near public transport. Luis Miguel (staff) was very nice and always there to answer your question. Rooms are always clean, bed was comfortable and price per night is the best especially for budget travellers. The only negative side is, they don't offer breakfast. It would be so nice if they will offer breakfast even for a fee.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed at the Anjo Azul hotel last week while we were in Lisbon and were really impressed.

The location was amazing, one street behind all the bars of the Barrio Alto so although you were right in the action for night life you didn't get disturbed by it at night.

The room was cleaned everyday to a great standard. The only thing that was a disappointment was out little terrace was more of a box and not nearly as nice as in the pictures. However we had thought this might be the case when we booked it and as we opted for the cheapest room anyways couldn't complain.

It is a gay hotel however don't let that put you off, the only evidence we saw of it was the rainbow flag in the lobby and some pictures of handsome men surfing on our bedroom wall!

Short walking distance to all the sites and tasty restaurants - try steak on a stone it is amazing :-)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We were unable to have one of the rooms that we have booked as the hotel was installing air conditioning on that floor so one of our party had to move to another much smaller room below. The hotel was very clean with smallish rooms and varying bathrooms. The walls were quite thin which made the hotel a bit noisy especially when the workmen were overhead installing the air con!!

It also seemed that the hotel was renting rooms by the hour based on the activities and noises through the night (and the condom packs titled "sexy kits" on the stairwell).

One of the staff members was quite surly but on the whole the staff were fine.

The real bonus was that the rooms were reasonably priced and the hotel was in a great location - very close to heaps of bars and restaurants.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

The hotel was clean and brightly decorated which was a nice change from the typical, boring hotel room. The location in the Barrio Alto is GREAT!!! The reason to stay here is clearly the location. Everything in the Barrio Alto is within a couple of blocks so that's very nice. The management was friendly and nice. We stayed on the 3rd floor and our room faced an alley so it was quiet with respect to outside noise but during the night you can hear people walking up and down the stairs. At one point, a group of people were talking in the hallway and it sounded like it was in our room (really loud). So the rooms are not insulated and quiet. But they are clean and comfortable (but as another review noted, not a lot of space to store things). It was good for one night, but I wouldn't want to spend more than 1 or 2 nights there. Our room was EUR75. Not a bad value for the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Because of the thin walls, we could hear everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Anjo Azul (Blue Angel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anjo Azul (Blue Angel)

Address: Rua Luz Soriano 75, Lisbon, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anjo Azul (Blue Angel) 3*
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anjo Azul (Blue Angel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.