We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floresta do Salitre

Floresta do Salitre
Rua do Salitre 42 D, Lisbon 1250-200, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 2,352 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Shiloh, IL
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

What a great find. Very charming, reasonably priced, excellent service and great tasting food. We would go back there for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    57
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had grilled squid and cutlets of black pork, and in both plates they were cooked as well as they could possibly be (with, possibly, just a little too much salt, but that was a small cost). Juicy, tasty, a right bugger that we only found the place on our last night; otherwise we would have come again and again. Oh, and nice potato crisps instead of the usual soggy potato chips.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The Genuine Article”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Tucked away up a small road off the Liberty Avenue, this is a restaurant for the locals. My Portugese is virtually non existent and the Owner's English was limited, but with goodwill we managed. My order of a glass of house red resulted in a bottle of red, but I managed to drink it all. The food was good honest fare at very reasonable prices. Go there eat, drink, and people watch, you won't regret it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Found this by accident..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Loved the food. Loved the service. What's not to like in this restaurant. Would definitely recommend.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simple food, well served to solo diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

US restaurants too often mistreat solo diners, but that was far from the case at Floresta do Salitre - even lacking a common language. Arriving an hour and a half before the 11 PM closing, I was seated and served with homey hospitality.

Since Frommer had recommended the daily dishes - which are not described in English, I used the other items, along with the fish and meats visible in the cold case to identify brochette of squid and shrimp. Matching this with a tomato salad and a glass of vinho verde, I thought I had ordered plenty.

But then the meal flowed forward. Instead of pouring me just a glass, the host set the newly opened bottle on the table (later charged for only one glass -- although I enjoyed the equivalent of two US glasses). Then, a complimentary tasting of fried sardines arrived along with my perfectly grilled brochette -- crisped edges on the squid, but not overcooked to toughness, a bit of pork and sausage and a fragrant green pepper setting off the seafood. When I asked for the check, it arrived with a complimentary glass of chilled muscato.

Throughout the meal, I enjoyed the relaxed, convivial atmosphere. The hosts joked with diners -- apparently regulars. When the 11 pm closing time arrived, some settled checks and called it a night, but there was never any signal that our hosts wanted to go to bed and rest for tomorrow's work.

As with many small restaurants, there is a small bread charge, but with this generosity and these prices, why quibble? Even with a 15% tip, this feast only cost 20 Euros. Smilingly sated, I walked one block back to the Avenida Metro stop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Floresta do Salitre also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Floresta do Salitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floresta do Salitre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.