We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very VIP” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel

Save Saved
You added VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. 5 de Octubro, 295, Lisbon 1600-035, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not very VIP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I got booked into the VIP Villa Rica for a work meeting of about 50. The staff were totally unable to cope with our (modest) number - the restaurant downright refused to serve a colleague on the first night, the reception staff was insolent, the "spa" (whirlpool) was out of order, the pool didn't open until 9, so we weren't able to go for a swim before work. Things got better on day two, the rest of the staff was absolutely lovely (special mention for the outstanding Paula, Paulo and Hugo) and we ate out (see my review for O Poleiro, which is 10 minutes away on foot). Generally, our impression was that the hotel management did not have enough staff on the floor.

The hotel is close to the Metro station and a short walk away from the bull fighting stadium (every Thursday - check it out if you are so inclined) and very close to the airport (meaning you hear a lot of planes). There is no wifi on the rooms, but bring a cable for wired internet access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    89
    40
    17
    6
See reviews for
24
63
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found the accomodation and the service in this hotel of good quality. Only minus: food was not great; better go to the center of the city and have some real Portugese meal. The swimming pool was an asset though, we enjoyed it a lot since we had this really hot weather.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Villa Rica was a fantastic place, everything was modern and perfectly clean. The restaurant was constantly closed when we were there. Reception were mediocre. one girl gave us terrible directions - we ended up lost.

The hotel wasn't in the best location, but there was a metro so it made it a lot easier. There was a chinese restaurant round the corner which was nice when we were too tired to go into town for food.

The indoor pool was nice, but we were told that swimming caps were a definite must, but when I went down looking like a fool in my pink cap, there were women and kids without any. The kids messing about were kind of annoying. The jacuzzi was broken. The gym was closed. The sauna and turkish baths only get switched on at 6 until 9.

My major grievances - we never had enough toilet roll! The laundry service was too expensive. Too far away to walk into town. Had to change onto a different metro line to get into town. Wasteland view out of our room (front facing)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

stayed here for one night on my way up to coimbra and stayed there then we got a surpire from my grandad to watch cirque du soleil that night.taxis are cheap into the centre and metro is a 5min walk good rooms they have interconnecting rooms for familys good value planes do come over the hotel but at night you cant hear them just outside the center of lisbon good for families and business people do come here

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during high season, as it was one of the few reasonable priced accomodations. The location is very easy to find by car, but not really pretty (the view from our room on the 7th floor contained a huge empty building area). Nevertheless you won't have to worry too much about the neighbourhood, as the next metro station (yellow line, Entrecampos) is just 3 minutes away and will take you quickly to the city center.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, because it was a little bit overpriced, so we took advantage of the nearby cafés and the supermarket close to the metro station. Staff was friendly and our room was spacious with huge king size beds, everyhing was in good conditions and very clean. The only thing missing is a free wireless internet connection.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and can recommend it for a few nights.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very spacious and clean rooms. My room had very large windows facing the street and although there were many planes flying over (the hotel is not that far from the airport) I didn’t hear any noise at night.
Bed is very hard. Internet available although you have to bring your own cable or buy one at the reception desk – no wireless!
Staff was friendly, although there was a problem with my room when we arrived; the receptionist got a bit nervous, but tried to solve the problem as soon as possible. There was also a problem with one of the windows (it didn’t close properly – which also meant the air conditioning wouldn’t work) and they came to fix it straight away.
Location: perfect if you have to be at the university (ISCTE-IUL), but the area itself is not really exciting; except for one small restaurant, there are no other pubs or restaurants around. However, there’s a metro station just around the corner, as well as a big supermarket. Otherwise you can take a taxi (quite cheap!). All in all ok, but for sightseeing I’d recommend a hotel in the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed there this summer with my wife and children (18 & 24) and had two nicely decorated (well: you could argue about the quality of the paintings) rooms - clean and welcoming. The TV set was a bit old (no flat screen) but we did not come to watch TV anyway. Metro is less then 5 minutes away, but you have to change trains once to get to the historic city center (or to the airport).
They have an indoor swimming pool dug deeply under the hotel (below the parking garage I suppose) - relatively clean, but smelling of chlorine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel

Address: Av. 5 de Octubro, 295, Lisbon 1600-035, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel stands out for its exterior design whilst breathing light, nature and art in its interior. The size and tranquility of the rooms, the brightness of the areas, the marble in the bathrooms, a large lobby with natural light, News Shop, garage with three floors, Bar, Restaurant, a Health Club which features a gym, indoor heated pool, Turkish bath and Sauna, makes this hotel is the choice for your stay in Lisbon with all the quality.For those who bring your laptop, free internet in the rooms is available. The VIP Executive Villa Rica has nine conference rooms, with space to accommodate from a business meeting to a Congress with hundreds of participants. Situated on one of the main arteries of the capital, at the top of the 5 de Outubro Avenue, it has an outstanding set of easy and quick access to all areas of the city. It is close to the Entre-Campos railway station and the respective Metro station (3 minutes walking), it is only 10 minutes by Taxi from Lisbon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.