We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A west faced bank of sand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa de Caparica

Costa de Caparica
Lisbon 2825, Portugal (Baixa)
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
Attraction details
Oeiras, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A west faced bank of sand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This beach is in fact a line of sand of about 20 kms and a very nice place for holidays, keeping in mind the respect for nature... and that includes sea and its dangers. very crowded during summer season. There's a nudist beach called "praia do meco" some kms away in direction of cape Espichel.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    40
    19
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerh48
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you are in Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Costa Caparica lies just over the other side of the river from Lisbon and is a great place to go if the sun is out.

The beaches are sheltered and sandy - perfect for children and there is a walkway behind the beaches with a number of cafe bars which serve decent food at reasonable prices. For about 6€ you can get a Bifana (pork steak sandwich) and a drink of your choice.

The beaches do pick up some waves too, although not usually big ones like further up the coast so it is great for less experienced surfers.

The town is quite a nice place with a variety of shops, bars and restaurants and is pleasant to wander around as a break from the beach.

I think there is a decent bus service from Lisbon and a boat service runs regularly from town over to the edge of Costa Caparica (probably too far to walk to the beaches although again, I think there is a bus service). The best way over is to drive over the Pont 25 Abril and take the first exit which leads to the town and beaches. It's a straightforward drive. there is plenty of parking next to the beaches and is quite inexpensive.

Weekends can be busy with people from town but weekdays are usually quiet even in July and August.

If you are in Lisbon and fancy a day on the beach, Costa Caparica is well worth visiting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A very long beach close tol Lisbon. Take bus 153/161 from Praca de Espanha, about 30 min, then a short walk (5 min) to the beach. Caparica is very long, aprox 20 km, the first 10 km have bars and cafeterias, then comes a bit with nothing, where the gay,lesbian och nude ares are (nr 17-19), There is a lovely dieseltrain that goes all the way every half hour and if you are going a bit futher take it! We stayed at the nudist beach (nr 19) so we could be topless. It was much less crowded, but you have to walk a little to get to refreshments. Beware of the timewater and the waves!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best beaches in Portugal, near Lisboa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The larger cost of beaches in Portugal, so many beaches... The water is so clean we can see little fish on water near sand. Near from Lisboa. There are my prefered beaches in Portugal, and just 25 Kms. from Lisboa. We can surf, windsurf, so many things to do here. The sand is gold and the see is fantastic blue. If we want we can take a little train to Fonte da Telha and take a fantastic view to all beaches, from the left side os Costa da Caparica. For right side we can go until Trafaria and take the boat to Lisboa (Belém), and see the fantastic view of Lisboa.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great beaches, poor surrondings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great beaches if you go south and drive away from Costa da Caparica center. Forget the town: it's terrible, really awful: the only decent way to go there and to have a great beach day is to rent a car and drive directly to one of the southern beaches (from Praia da Rainha onwards)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa de Caparica also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Costa de Caparica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa de Caparica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.