We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Igreja de Sao Roque

Igreja de Sao Roque
Largo Trindade Coelho | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200, Portugal (Encarnação)
+351 21 346 0361
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$60*
and up
Private Tour: Customize Your Perfect Day in Lisbon
Ranked #19 of 447 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Gold!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little church encrusted with gold leave and cherubs which is either a testament to faith or vulgar display of wealth, depending on viewpoint. A must see in Lisbon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    291
    44
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“What a beauty...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don't judge the book by the cover means Igreja de sao rouque, very humble gate and building from outside and what a beauty inside! It's not Dome or Notre dam but it has her unique beauty ,,great place for photography lovers ...many details in sculptures to enjoy...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“over the top church interior”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I am not a great fan of baroque catholic churches so wish I had given this one a miss. reminded me of too many I have seen in Rome and other Italian cities. I preferred the plain architecture of the Se.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Igreja de Sao Roque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

even though the facade of the Church is not impressive at all, it is very impressive from inside, with its luxurious gilded chapels. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

One of my favorite churches in the city! I actually enjoyed more than the Sao Francisco. Check out the ceilings when in the church.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja de Sao Roque also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Igreja de Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Igreja de Sao Roque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.