We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best i have seen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisbon Zoo (Jardim Zoologico de Lisboa)

Lisbon Zoo (Jardim Zoologico de Lisboa)
Estrada de Benfica 158-160, Lisbon, Portugal
+351 217 232 910
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Lisbon Zoo (Jardim Zoologico de Lisboa) like an insider
Top Rated
$20*
and up
City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #22 of 423 things to do in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Lisbon Zoo features 2,000 animals and a dolphin show.
Albufeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best i have seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is an excellent zoo there is an overhead chairlift which covers the zoo and is included in ticket price travels over the animal pens in a circle around the zoo which allows you to get your bearings before setting off on foot.They have lots of young cubs etc which i think means happy animals in open areas not caged up food prices were also good value

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    425
    100
    18
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice zoo, great dolphin attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The highlights of this zoo are the dolphin attraction which is a must see, and the cable car ride which is a nice way to have a first impression of the zoo.

The zoo itself is rather cramped with animals and small living spaces. It's clean and well managed but not that nice looking. Not a lot of information or interactivity. In itself its a nice visit, maybe a bit expensive because you can easely see everything between 1 to 2 hours.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“See also how Dolphins peform under the water !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Unlike in Sandiego, here you can see how the Dolphins move around under the water giving excellent views. With one entry ticket of 16 Euros, you get entry to almost all attractions like Dolphin Show, Bird feeding, Cable Car etc., .. Value for money.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Tour not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I recommend a visit a sunny day of spring. The Zoo of Lisbon is quite large and may take a whole day to visit him. It is advisable to plan the route in order to take advantage of the different attractions available and coordinate their schedules (dolphins, birds, sea lions feed, reptiles) beyond the Teleferico journey. A new zone of primates, after reconstruction, was quite beautiful and educational. For lunch there are plenty of restaurants with varied cuisines. The price of entering the zoo seems a bit exaggerated.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a fantastic day here with our 3 1/2 year old daughters. We first say the dolphin show, which was amazing, although very little is in English. We then explored the zoo, which was a good size for children of this age, I can imagine older children might find it a bit small. The cable car ride above it was great and a good way for toddlers to see a lot quickly. We also went on the little train ride which was a few euros extra and was good when our girls were getting tired of walking around. We had lunch in mcdonalds just outside the zoo but still in park settings. There was a crocodile in the pond next to it! The ticket price was reasonable for this type of attraction, what surprised us was how heavily sponsored everything was in the park. A lot of enclousures had a corporate sponsor and the dolphin show has the walls logo everywhere, but I guess there is less funding from government currently so this is the only way to keep the park affordable and viable. Doesn't really detract from the zoo and everything is very well maintained.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Zoo (Jardim Zoologico de Lisboa) also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Zoo (Jardim Zoologico de Lisboa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisbon Zoo (Jardim Zoologico de Lisboa), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.