We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Igreja da Sao Vicente de Fora

Igreja da Sao Vicente de Fora
Largo de Sao Vicente, Lisbon, Portugal
21/887-64-70
Improve this listing
Visit Igreja da Sao Vicente de Fora like an insider
Top Rated
$34*
and up
Lisbon River Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #55 of 431 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ystad, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Visited this museum on the last day in Lisbon and could have stayed for hours (but got threre just before they closed). Wounderfull wiev from the terasses on the church. Nice museem and you cant miss the royal familie tombs. A lovely statue of a mourning woman. Not much turist when we were here so yould really walk around enjoying the monastery.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    68
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blagoveschensk
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“La Fontaine’s fables in tiles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Igreja da Sao Vicente de Fora is a tremendous white building with three arches and statues decorating the façade. The inside impresses with more statues, a great altarpiece, sunlit cloisters and galleries with tiled walls. You see tiles everywhere, very beautiful. On one of the upper floors there are tiled panels relating La Fontaine’s fables, where pictures are accompanied with verbalized stories. You can climb to the roof to have a picture of the monastery from a different angle, and to enjoy breathtaking views of the city and Tejo river. Don’t miss fantastic banisters (see the pictures).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Igreja de Sao Vicente de Fora is easy to reach with the tram 28 and definitely worth a visit. The monastery is very interesting to see and this is also the place where the organs of the old Royal Family of Portugal are buried. You can climb up the church towers for a very nice view over Lisbon. You can not visit the monastery for free, however it was worth the few euros we have spend on it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,711 reviews 2,711 reviews
2,438 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
2,528 helpful votes 2,528 helpful votes
“Impressive Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Sao Vicente is very clean and very white. Sao Vicente de Fora Monastery was built in 1582. It was rebuilt after the 1755 earthquake. In 1855 it became the pantheon of the Braganza dynasty. It holds the bodies of all the kings from 1640 to 1910.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“A favorite spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited this church on our last day in Lisbon. It was one of our favorite visits. The church itself is beautiful, but be sure to go to the cloisters next door. We loved the fables on the blue tiles. I could have spent hours reading them. The view from the top is amazing. I am surprised this isn't higher on the lists of "must do's" in Lisbon! We took the 28 trolley from there, but it is easily walkable! After 2 days in Lisbon, the hills aren't that challenging...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja da Sao Vicente de Fora also viewed

 

Been to Igreja da Sao Vicente de Fora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Igreja da Sao Vicente de Fora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.