We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Instinctus Wine Bar

Instinctus Wine Bar
Rua Santa Cruz do Castelo | nº35, Lisbon 1100, Portugal (Baixa)
351 966440469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 2,349 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Baixa
Description: Make your reservation. Thank you
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Even with my two babies, we had a lovely and romantic brunch, due to the fact that the co-owner helped me and my husband. It was the first time we travelled sincethe kids were born. They made the difference. Thanks!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    24
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Trust Instinctus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very cute little place in the heart of the citadel, near the Castle. We had a couple of glasses of an interesting Portuguese rose and some tasty tapas to go with. The bar manager was friendly and quite helpful to us, strangers from the other side of Europe. So, everybody: go & try it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You must know this store ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Typical store, located in the middle of a castle in Lisbon, where we can only get to eat a delicious cheese and buy a bottle of wine, worth knowing, all the surrounding environment is very romantic.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Definitely worth tottering the extra few steps out of St Jorges castle.....incredibly friendly, fantastic wine, lovely food and very good value. The owner was very informative about the origins of the food and wine, took a teenager in her stride, and even gave a free glass of tawny port to birthday boy. A welcome retreat after visiting the castle, can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome, fun wine bar that does not overcharge for purchased bottles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

A couple of friends and I went for vacation in late October. We had read reviews of other wine bars in Lonely Planet, but stumbled upon this one. Paulo Valentim was very friendly and spoke great English (along with quite a few other languages). He let us try wines (even more than were on our tasting menu that we bought), we also enjoyed some wines by the glass. Because he was so helpful, we decided to buy a few bottles to either drink on the trip or pack in out suitcase to take back to the US. I asked for recommendations and he showed things in all price points and the two he recommended were in the $30 euro range (even though he had things that were a lot higher in price). I ended up buying both of those bottles plus a bottle that we had tried during the tasting.

We then went to two of the wine shops that were mentioned in Lonely Planet and I saw the exact same bottles of wine. One was $10 Euro more expensive and one was $30 Euro more. I even took the bottle out and it was the same year and everything.

So if you make the hike up the hill to Castle St. Jorge, wander around and find this little gem and you will be rewarded with great conversation and reasonably priced bottles of wine to enjoy there or take home.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Instinctus Wine Bar also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Instinctus Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Instinctus Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.