We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in non turist Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petiscaria Ideal

Petiscaria Ideal
Rua da Esperanca 100, Lisbon, Portugal
213971504
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 2,561 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food in non turist Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were referred to this small restaurant on a small street near the French Embassy near the Janelas Verdes area..A small eclectic restaurant simply decorated but do not let this fool you..
Petiscaria Ideal specializes in a Portuguese twist on Tapas. Basing there dishes on some famous traditional Portuguese dishes with modern twists and additions.
We shared one starter type dish as well as having two mains type dishes. Each dish was much larger than typical Tapas and all very delicious. We will definetley return

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    53
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not as yummy as Taberna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We came here after having dinner at its sister restaurant, "Taberna Ideal" (same owner) a few nights earlier and were not as pleased with the food. The "tapas" are a bit small for the price. I understand that tapas are small, but they are usually priced lower as well, bc of the size. These tapas were each around 10 Euro! Taberna Ideal seemed like a much better value.

The food was pretty good. We got 4 tapas dishes and two were great and two were not too good. Stay away from the cuddle fish. The black pig stew with pepper something or other was great. The cod and potato dish was also good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsofit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Petiscaria Ideal a great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Visiting in Lisbon for couple of days for business, my Portuguese friend took me last night to Petiscaria Ideal. This is a small and packed place, non-formal, with a family ambiance atmosphere.
The theme of the place is "sharing" (like the Spanish Tapas Bars) -- you share a table with other people, you share the plates with your friends. So I had a chance to taste 3 different dishes (enough for couple of people). The food is delicious. The staff is very friendly and out-going. Definitely not a place that the typical tourist will find on his own. Prices are more than reasonable (3 dishes and beers) - 30 Euro for both of us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Go with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The great thing about Trip Advisor is it helps you find some great restaurants, like Petiscaria Ideal when you are visiting a new place. The bad thing is everyone else can read the reviews and its tough to get into a well rated place for dinner.

This is a great place to go with a few friends and share some interesting and well prepared dishes. But there will be names on the list on the wall and you'll have to wait.

There are a few small tables for 4-6 and two long tables that seat around 16 people and its definitely a family style environment with people sitting right next to you. But this can be very nice as you can meet people a little and then go back to your own groups conversations. Or just focus on the people you are with.

The menu has some great choices and as a solo dinner I was only able to sample a few, which were great. I'd love to go here with a bigger group and be able to try a bigger range of the dishes. My neighbors dishes looked yummy.

Note that everything is Ala carte, even the bread and olives. So just recognize that if you want them you have to pay for them. A little strange to some of us, but that's they way they do it. its also a little strange that they wrap them with food wrap and have them on the table, a weird presentation of some nice olives. I think they could just ask you if you want them and bring them over.

Right next to Taberna Ideal, what looks like another great place to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Lisbon Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This really is one of the best eating experiences I have had. A Portuguese friend took myself , wife and another good friend there. We had to wait a few minuted before we got a table. Always a good sign. The restaurant is simple in decoration and style but has immediate warmth. The staff were so busy but very helpful and attentive. The food was wonderful. Portuguese using local products but the style was distinctive and served in a tapas style so we all had a chance to sample each others choice. Wine was very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petiscaria Ideal also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Petiscaria Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petiscaria Ideal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.