We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pensao Residencial Portuense

Save Saved
You added Pensao Residencial Portuense to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensao Residencial Portuense
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 - 157 | Baixa, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #90 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The reason I stayed at this hotel was firstly due to limited budget and the location. Close to metro station, main sightseeing areas and major shopping streets etc. All was within walking distance.

I would advise people not to go into those restaurants which are nearby the hotel!

Overall, it was fine for a 1-night stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rportuense, Proprietário at Pensao Residencial Portuense, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

We thankyou for your feedback. I assume that you gave us a low rating for services provided outside the hotel which are not at all related to us. Unfortunately we are not able to change external factors around us.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    179
    58
    15
    6
See reviews for
58
107
63
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. It is in the old town, close to trams, trains, buses and the Metro. There are lots of restaurants close by too. Although the single rooms are quite small they are comfortable and clean as are the en-suite bathrooms. Breakfast was basic but adequate - nice bread. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I really enjoyed staying here and would return if I decide to visit Lisbon again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is down a back sidestreet from a city center. Rooms are very clean and appears that it all had been updated a while back. Room view is back of other buildings. Break was the basic Cont Euro type--bread, spread and beverages. There was a small grocery store 5 min to the north. It is in a great location for old Lisbon. 5 min walk to square with many shops and restaurants. Hop on/off had stops in center. There were 2 different companies. Hard Rock cafe just around the corner. There is a money change place in square but could not find it open. Go south at the very south end down a street and there was another one. Great exchange rate. Best on this trip.
Be very alert of the taxis from the airport. The cost should have been around 15E. Ours charged us 48E. He basically hurried off after getting paid. When in doubt ask for a receipt as his cab number is on the receipt. His meter is in front of the passenger seat and he never showed me the amount on the meter. You cannot see it from the back seat. He turned it off as soon as we arrived. It was a black Mercedes. He was white and about in his 40's. Cost to go to airport was 13E.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Well located near Rossio, and just off the main pedestrian area on the street. The place is quite small, is old, bit has been refurbished. Rooms are clean, but basic. Bathrooms are modern. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was mostly breads, but fresh. The only issue was a moldy smell, which might really bother some people. Overall though, decent value for the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel - quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rportuense, Proprietário at Pensao Residencial Portuense, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

I thankyou for your feedback. We have registered your suggestions and will try to implement those changes as soon as possible.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here when we arrived in Lisbon and the night before our early morning departure.
The hotel is in a perfect downtown location and the rooms were spotless. We stayed on the 5th floor with a balcony and a view overlooking the street. Rooms are very basic which is not a problem but the beds were too hard for us. The family that runs the hotel are wonderful, had coffee and buns waiting for our 5:15 taxi when we left.
For the money you can't go wrong, but new beds and pillows would really help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rportuense, Proprietário at Pensao Residencial Portuense, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

I thankyou for your feedback. We have registered your suggestions and will try to implement those changes as soon as possible.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good location to visit the city, helpful and lovely staff, clean rooms. Only negative the noise of steps on the wooden floor from early morning. Free Wifi available in the hall and breakfast area. Breakfast served until late.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were looking to stay our last night in Lisbon after being in the country in the Rossio area. This hotel was right where we wanted to be, but that is where the good points stop. It was in our budget as we have splurged on the rest of our hotels, should have paid more for a better hotel. The beds were very hard and lumpy, not able to get even a couple hours of sleep. The continental breakfast was bread, coffee and juice, no meats, cheeses or fruit.
The front desk was helpful, but couldn't make up for the bad night of no sleep. Would not suggest this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pensao Residencial Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Portuense

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 - 157 | Baixa, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Residencial Portuense 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residencial Portuense has recently renovated and clean rooms with a friendly service at an affordable price in Lisbon's city centre. Portuense has accommodation which varies from single, double, twin and triple rooms which are equipped with private bathrooms, air conditioning, heating, TV and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pensao Residencial Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensao Residencial Portuense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.