We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly staff, clean and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensao Residencial Portuense

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pensao Residencial Portuense to your Saves list
Pensao Residencial Portuense
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 - 157 | Baixa, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #125 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly staff, clean and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 3am so it was a little confusing as the night attendant didn't speak much English however we sorted it in the end. For parking we used the underground garage on Avendia da Liberdade marked 'Restauradores' near the Hard Rock Cafe. Quite expensive but safe and near hotel. Extremely clean hotel. Basic but suited our needs well. Hotel is very central and we found we could walk to all the main sites from here. Breakfast was basic but tasty fresh bed rolls provided with butter, jam and cheese. Reception staff were incredibly helpful and very chatty. They recommended a great restaurant. Definitely one of the friendliest hotels I've stayed in in a long time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    174
    58
    20
    7
See reviews for
66
113
70
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location, just don't get pulled into any of the tourrist trap restaurants on the actual street of the hotel. The staff was very cordial and the price very reasonable for what was provided. Overall a pleasant and charming time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here in a single room for two nights and can say it was almost perfect for my needs as a single traveller wanting a simple, good-value base to explore the town. The room was basic and small but clean; the bathroom was one of the smallest en-suites I've ever seen but again clean, and perfectly OK if you are not looking to spend quality time in your room.
The hotel's location is great; the airport bus stops close by and all of central Lisbon is within walking distance. It's a good base to explore from.
I had a room overlooking the back of the hotel - nothing to see but it was reasonably quiet. Not much sound insulation and you can't really avoid the aeroplane noise in Lisbon given that the airport is almost in town, but it wasn't a big issue.
Breakfast is pretty basic. Coffee and tea with nice fresh bread rolls but unfortunately only jam and spreadable cheese to go on the rolls. A few slices of real cheese and a bit of Portuguese ham would have turned it from passable to good.
Free wi-fi is available which is a significant plus, but unfortunately only in the reception and breakfast room.
Friendly staff with good local advice made this a pleasant stay; the only other downside worth mentioning is that there are no safes in the rooms but the staff will keep valuables at reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This Hotel deserves more than two stars. I have seen other 4 Star Hotels, especially arround Lisbon, where you can stay worse. It is simple, clean and everything is refurbished. The Hotelier speaks several languages e.g. english, fench, spanish and of course portugues. He is very friendly and tells you everything you need to know.

I liked it very much, its not too expenive and very central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice and quiet economy hotel close to many restaurants and the center of old Lisbon. Efficient and kind check-in with good recommendation of what to do and where to eat. Clean and simple room with air condition, television, telephone, toilet and standard shower cabin. No unnecessary furniture or installations. Standard breakfast with coffee, juice, bread, cereals, cheese, cold cuts and jam. No hot dishes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Pensao Residencial in November. We booked it for the location
and it turned out to be a great choice. This is your typical older style european hotel, not a north american chain,but the rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is there and plentiful, if basic (coffee, juice, baking, cheese, coldcuts and jam). The showers in both rooms I stayed in were, in a word.. awesome.. they look basic but if you're used to
water conserving dribble showers, these were definately NOT. felt awesome after a cross the pond flight :)

The location is right off of the metro line, but back one street so there isn't a pile of street noise. Good restaurants and lots of places to walk and see in the area, and easy access to the rest of lisbon, and the airport, via the metro. Staff were very helpful (even the night staff where english was "challenge" to them) and even when we were leaving early in the morning (far earlier than the advertised breakfast time) made sure we had food before we left for the morning.

Liked it enough that we booked it again on our way back through lisbon before our departure flight, easy to get from here to the airport.

Highly reccomended if you're not the type that would prefer chain hotels. great value
for the price in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Note they have good wifi - but it doesn't work in most of the rooms, you need to go down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our recent stay at the very economical Pensao Portuense. It had the best of locations: restaurants, cafes and shops were within walking distance on lively pedestrian streets, and important sites were easily accessible. A satisfying breakfast of juice, coffee, toast, rolls and jelly was available every morning, a great convenience. Everything in the hotel was immaculately clean, and its quietness ensured a good night's sleep.

Most of all we appreciated and were impressed by the accommodating manner of the intelligent management, the brothers Sadiq and Hussein. All of our questions were patiently, quickly and accurately answered. Further, they obtained and printed our airline boarding passes without our even asking them to do so! The entire staff went above and beyond expectations. Staying at the Pensao Portuense contributed to easing the anxiety of being a tourist and to our pleasure of being in Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensao Residencial Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Portuense

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 - 157 | Baixa, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Residencial Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The Residential is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Pensao Residencial Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensao Residencial Portuense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.