We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel , and a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portugal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Portugal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Portugal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Joao das Regras, 4, Lisbon 1100, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Egernsund, Denmark
1 review
“Fantastic hotel , and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotels is great , and has a great location . You can walk to almost all sights. The hotel and staff are very friendly, clean and top professional. Perfect breakfast. I would tell my friends about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Behind the Hotel Mundial which is its big sister hotel in a fantastic position next to the metro and centrally located. Very attentive staff who are always available to answer any questions. Not located in an attractive street but the double glazing is top quality and you don't hear a thing in your room. Coffee machine in the room although you are charged per cup. Breakfast is ok with the usual top quality fruit and brilliant bread. As with many European hotels the English TV channels are awful but I doubt you will be spending much time in your room with the beautiful city to explore.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel, super nice and helpful staff. Great location. large beautiful rooms, great restaurant recommendations for dinner. Would have like to stay longer to enjoy the hotel the great location and of course Lisbon. Will definitely be back to visit Lisbon and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel- From check in to check out everything was fabulous! Friendly staff, bright fresh modern room, delicious breakfast, most sights in walking distance & 1 minute from the metro. Make sure you have a detailed map & know the tram stops.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Portugal for three nights during our June stay in Lisbon. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience from our arrival. The staff were young, gave great local tips and were very eager to help and ensure you experienced local gems. The rooms were very clean & very well equipped. It was easy to walk around the charming Bairro Alto and Alfama from the hotel or catch public transport or tour buses where necessary. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 nights in May, over the weekend when the Champions League final was in Lisbon (not planned!!). From the minute we checked in to the moment we left the service was absolutely superb. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

Our room was lovely. We stayed in a standard double and it wasn't huge but it was plenty big enough for the two of us. As many others have mentioned there is a large tv on the wall. There is also a coffee machine and mini bar (both you have to pay for). On our first and second nights we had water and fruit left in our rooms when we came back from our evening meal. It was for two nights because we had added an extra night on so tecnically had two bookings (I booked the extra night with a different complany by accident).

the toileteries in the bathroom were lovely and of very good quality and the shower was fantastic - a huge monsoon shower. The dressing gown and slippers were a nice touch, although the dressing gown appeared to have been boil-washed a bit too much as it was tiny!!

We were in a room right on the side street where the front door is and found it to be very quiet as there is double glazing. although it was hot while we were there we didn't have the windows open at night becaus ethe air conditioning kept the room at a very comfortable temperature.

The breakfast was lovely - cooked items which were hot and fresh, as well as fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and pastries (including the scrummy custard tarts on alternate mornings!). the coffee wasn't the best we've had but found that it was generally not that great everywhere we had it! Not the end of the world! Oh and there was also fizz available - poss champers but didn't try it so not sure. and freshly squeezed orange juice!

Location-wise it just couldn't have been better! It's right by the Figueira exit to Rossio metro. Restauradores is only about 5 minutes away and Praca do Comercio is only a stone's throw too. The castle isn't far but it's all up hill - good for burning off the breakfast! However just around the corner on Largo Martim Moniz you can catch the famous No. 28 tram which takes you right up to the castle. The Hotel Mundial has a nice rooftop bar as well which is goo for having a sunset drink (it's only open in the evenings) and they have blankets to wrap yourself in if it's chilly!

If you are thinking of booking this hotel just do it - I really cannot fault it in terms of appearance, service or location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved the Hotel Portugal. The location was perfect. Walking distance to everything. The hotel has just been redone. The lobby is beautiful. The staff was helpful, warm and English speaking. The rooms are modern and spacious. Bathrooms are large. Breakfast had a large variety of foods. We would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portugal

Address: Rua Joao das Regras, 4, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portugal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Portugal,4 stars boutique, you will find a 4 star accommodation just 200 meters from Rossio in downtown Lisbon. Each one of its 53 rooms is uniquely decorated. In downtown Lisbon, a few meters away from Hotel Portugal, you will find several points of interest that are part of the Portuguese culture and history. It has 11 standard rooms, 40 deluxe rooms and 2 suites, all equipped with free WIFI, air conditioning, direct telephone, slippers, bathrobe, magnifying mirror with light, double glazing, hairdryer, mini bar, 24 hour room service and interactive TV. Also available free parking on site and upon availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Portugal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portugal Lisbon
Portugal Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portugal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.