We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, room and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Internacional Design Hotel to your Saves list
Internacional Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #15 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great location, room and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

This hotel is in the praça do Rossio, that is very busy and noisy. However, the rooms could not be quieter. The hotel has great rooms for the price and a friendly and helpful staff. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    266
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
530
55
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed at this place in early June - the window of my room faces two major squares in Lisbon, and yet I don't hear extreme noise over night, even on the night of the St. Anthony's Day parade - the biggest party of Lisbon. Most people who works there are very pleasant and helpful. Not resort type of place, so don't expect pools, large lobby or gym, but then again, this is right in the heart of the Downtown. Perfect for single or couples without children. The wireless can only be used in the cafe though.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We returned to Lisbon after 10 days in the Azores and decided to try a different hotel this time around. I really liked the Internacional Design Hotel! It is very modern and chic and you couldn't get a better location--right on the Rossio (main square in the Baixa neighborhood) at the end of Rua Augusta (the main pedestrian street.) The room was clean and modern and well appointed. The wifi only works in the lounge area, but the very helpful guy at the front desk said they had an ethernet cable I could borrow for free. We were on the Zen floor in an "S" room--which was fine for our needs. There seems to be an Alice in Wonderland motif in the public areas too, which was cool. The only negatives I'd say were that the bathroom door is frosted glass so you don't get 100% privacy. I was traveling with my Dad so it was ok, but I think I'd feel awkward if my mom was in there and you could see her silhouette. Also, the bed was too firm for my tastes, but my dad was fine with it.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This hotel is a real find. It is located right in the heart of lisbon..everything literally on the doorstep. The staff were exceptional, couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed in an 'S' size room. It more than sufficed our needs. We were on the tribal themed floor, and the rooms were tastefully decorated. This is a modern contemporary hotel oozing cool. The breakfast was good, not a huge event but again sufficed our needs. I thought this hotel was exceptional value for money, how long will these rates last?.........98 euro per room b+b!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I'd recommend this hotel if you're looking for a nice place to stay in a central location. The hotel is modern, cool and trendy. Each floor has a different theme and the decor of the rooms and corridors reflect this. Room was clean. Breakfast was good, and the bar has a nice atmosphere for pre-dinner drinks in the evening. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was perfect for shopping and sight seeing.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

A small luxury in Lisbon
If you are into modern, contemporary design - you have to stay at internacional design hotel... not just once, but several times.

A stay at the hotel is amazing because the concept is original and the service very good .
You have 4 concepts to choose, from the Pop style until the Urban

The bar serve a small selection of Portuguese wine and premium drinks with Rossio square as background.

I definitely want to stay there again - maybe in Urban floor

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Internacional Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.