We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internacional Design Hotel, Lisbon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Internacional Design Hotel to your Saves list
Internacional Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #15 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Internacional Design Hotel, Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is extremely comfortable and in a good location close to cafes, shops, Metro and restaurants as well has being in a good place to see the sights. The rooms are smart and well-furnished, the staff friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is particularly good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    266
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
79
530
55
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

First, I acknowledge that we were upgraded to a suite overlooking Rossio--one of the most amazing rooms I have ever had anywhere in Europe. The room had views of the square from the bedroom, the sitting room, and the jacuzzi in the bathroom. But the comfort of the bed, the public rooms, and the helpful staff would have been there without the upgrade and would have made this hotel an excellent choice regardless of the upgrade. The breakfast was of the quality expected for a hotel of this price and quality, but the breakfast room overlooking Rossio was charming and sunny. It has no fitness center, a problem for most hotels in Portugal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This place is the complete package: ideal location for visitors, comfortable rooms, interesting design elements everywhere, excellent breakfasts. And the prices seem competitive with other hotels that are anywhere nearly as appealing.

The staff members are so helpful and so much fun you'll be tempted to invite one of them to come along with you as you continue your journey.

Room Tip: Some rooms have good views, some don't. Rooms with no views are completely quiet even though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

That's pretty much it. Competitive prices. Unusually excellent and friendly staff assistance. Smallish but spotless room. Fifty-five rooms so smallish, but easy to book on their website. Free wifi, toiletries, room safe, excellent bed. Best of all, right off Rossio Square which is the center of the town and thus immediately next to shopping and transportation. They brought a continental breakfast for an early flight exactly on time after the wake-up call, and even arranged a taxi to the airport. Each within seconds of schedule time. Pretty amazing (even had two complimentary drinks).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel had the friendliest, best service of any hotel I've stayed in. The staff are multilingual and eager to help or answer any questions. The location in the Rossio district is perfect for any sightseeing. We stayed here twice in our visit to Portugal and both rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast offered enough variety of foods to please anyone. I'd love to go back to Lisbon, and will definitely stay here if I do.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were good, but my favorite had a balcony looking out onto the pedestrian str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem in Lisbon.

Perfectly situated, the rooms are spacious, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the price is right. A perfect base to have while visiting Lisbon. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We went to Lisbon in April with friends and family as we had heard many great things about the place. It was pouring that heavily on upon arrival it actually buckled my umbrella! Gee whizz we thought - however the clouds soon dispersed and the factor 30 sun cream soon came out to play for the rest of the weekend (don’t like to be lobstered).

This hotel is situated right at the heart of the bustling city of Lisbon. The rooms on the “modern’ floor were extremely clean, well appointed if a little small. The staff were all very polite and gave us some great tips for sight seeing and restaurants. Certainly the best thing about the hotel was the breakfast that was served in a really cool and funky restaurant/bar. The chairs and lighting were stylish/urban and would not look out of place in MOMA. There were so many choices of brilliant savoury and sweet breakfast items (the cakes were to die for), and for the more “ruddy type” a glass of sparkling wine or two!

It was pleasing that it was possible to walk to most of the famous tourist sites from the hotel. Our favourite place to eat was Palmiera where they served the most “interesting” vegetarian dishes that contained octopus and ham. Yum.

We discovered a great little Ginginha bar on the steps en route to Bairro Alto, which is where all the bars and nightlight is to be found. We had a great night there and got to “hang” with the youth of Lisbon. We did not want to go and watch the famous Lisbon Fado (sad song) as we heard it was quite depressing and some people in our group are of a weak mental state, so perhaps next time. We were delighted to see some Hollywood stars on a night in Lisbon too. Kourtney Kardashian was doing a meet and greet in Commercial Square and my wife was MADE UP to get a picky and hug from her hunky husband Scott. Only in Lisbon!

The highlight of the weekend and a “must see” was a trip to the Oceanarium. We travelled by Metro which was the most convenient, however I would advise a cab from the hotel if you are a little poorly or claustrophobic. After 5 hours wait we saw the otters being fed which was simply mesmeric. We also saw them put their “waste” into their pocket. Wonderful.

There are two small criticisms of the city amongst the many great things: 1) The shopping was not so great, however we did quite enjoy guessing the price of the dusty bottles of port. 2) The No.28 tram is pony.

To conclude great city…AMAZING hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Internacional Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.