We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Internacional Design Hotel to your Saves list
Internacional Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €10 on select meals
Ranked #15 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Top location, excellent hotel, brilliant breakfast.
Two nights in hotel, staff couldn't be more helpful. Everything on the doorstep. Each floor is themed, modern and arty - really interesting. All detail carefully managed, very good.
Recommend breakfast, fantastic quality and good choices, and room light spacious, lovely atmosphere. We had a drink there on evening too, so it doubles as a bar, clever.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    266
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
79
530
55
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for a week at the Internacional Design Hotel in early November. The wonderful staff and the location really make it a standout. All the staff members were friendly, professional and went out of their way to be helpful. We arrived without our luggage, which didn't make it onto our flight, and the front desk staff right away took charge to call the claim center repeatedly on our behalf and to link us with the airline baggage dept. The hotel is centrally located and convenient to all transportation. Located on two main squares, with the Metro, train station to Sintra, trams to Belem, all right there. Walking distance to sights, shops, etc. Our room (Cocoon room number 212, in the "Tribe" motif) was small but nicely appointed, spotlessly clean, and quiet. The bed was large and comfortable and the pillows were luxurious. The bathroom had a full tub with shower. Our window overlooked a pedestrian street and pastry shop. There is a computer with internet access available. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to visit Lisbon.

Room Tip: We requested a room in the Tribe or Zen motif.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Worth every penny! We really enjoyed our stay...the staff are super friendly and helpful! Breakfast was wonderful, yummy! The shower was fantastic! The bed soft yet firm...everything was just perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

There is no better location in Lisbon. Period. Everything is walking distance and the neighborhood is lively and happy.

This is a quirky very cool place. So many things to look at just inside your hotel. The owners apparently were fascinated by Alice in Wonderland and it shows. I'll leave it at that.

I did do a little exploring, visiting the other themed floors of the hotel. We were on the tribal floor and I think I might have liked the pop music floor but we had a great indoor 4 story faux garden complete with birds singing. (I did not see any actual birds). We did have one of the smallest rooms - i think they call them cocoons... It was not horribly small by European standards but if you are one that likes your space, opt for a larger type.

The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. I accidentally ripped my hop on hop off ticket in half and the receptionist staff insisted on finding tape, repairing it and even walking me halfway to the bus stop (which is directly across the square). When we checked out, a different receptionist called our cab, took our luggage to the taxi, and instructed the driver where to take us and how much to charge us. Above and beyond for sure.

Their breakfast is also good - not spectacular but certainly substantial.

Finally - BOOK EARLY. While we were there a few people walked in and tried to get rooms. They were told the hotel had been booked up since June (we were there in Sept).

Room Tip: If size matters - don't choose the smallest option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Internacional Design Hotel for 3 nights. Such a perfect location. You reach the best restaurants and bars within walking distance. The Sightseeing Buses are just few foot steps away. The staff couldn't have been nicer and helpful. Wonderful breakfast buffet. Overall, phantastic experience, and everywhere great welcome.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Plaça Dom Pedro IV
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Dear Guest,

I would like to express the entire staff’s appreciation of your fantastic review about our hotel. We are always willing to help you and to give you the best recommendations to ensure you have the best possible stay in Lisbon.

We will be more than happy to welcome you again to our beautiful city.

Just let us know when you are coming back, so we can help you to once again have a memorable stay with us.

Best regards,

Diogo Heleno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent the last leg of our honey moon in this hotel. Location was perfect and the hotel staff helped when ever requested. When I handed my passport over they were shocked that I had Portuguese last name, so much so that they sent up some little snacks and a bottle of wine at no charge! very friendly staff!

Room Tip: Book Direct with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on february/2013. The location is great (near many attractions with easy access to transportation) and comfortable accommodations. What surprised us was the service. The staff were very attentive. Expressed an attention to detail: On Valentine's Day, the breakfast was themed and each table was decorated with a red rose. Great hotel to stay in Lisbon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Internacional Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.